We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sound!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melkweg

Melkweg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Melkweg stands for pop culture in the most broad of senses. Each year, hundreds of concerts, club nights, films and music films, theatre performances, expositions and multidisciplinary events together attract more than 400,000 visitors. The venue is located in the only surviving factory building on the Amsterdam canal ring, a former sugar and, later, milk factory. This historical building houses two concert halls, a cinema, a theatre, and an exposition space, which each can be used separately or combined together. In the Melkweg, established names can be seen alongside new talent and emerging styles get the chance to reach a broader audience. The diversity of its programming and visitors, together with its different spaces and special location, have for years made the Melkweg a unique place.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sound!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My partner and I had pre booked tickets to see San Cisco. I thought I would have just had to show my printed receipt to get in but no I was so wrong. Please note Melkweg charges an extra four euros each to get into the venue. I was told it does state this on the receipt but unfortunately coming from the U.K i cant read the small print which was in dutch.
Anyway apart from the minor hick up the staff are more than welcoming, drinks are fairly priced and most of the the acoustics are very good. We had a great night out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank newtocu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    81
    12
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great night but be prepared to queue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Out for a stag do and heard that this was a good club. There was a group of 13 but we managed to get split up. The queue was MASSIVE but we waited it out. Be sure to bring ID with you as you won't be allowed in without it. Entry was 10 euros on a Sat night and you may be searched going in. You can put your coat in for 1.50. Toilets are free unlike some places you will find where you have to pay. Great place with plenty of room to dance. The left side played a variety of music and the left room played more R&B. Drinks are reasonably priced. Would say this place is a MUST if you are thinknig of going out in the 'dam

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kipsterdry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Music, very young crowd.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went there on a girls trip and thought we could give it a try. The music is quite nice the acoustics were very good. Coming from London, we found the drinks to be excellent value for money.
The downer is that the crowd is extremely young, mostly teenagers and university students. We had a good hour of dancing our heels off, but I must admit it all got a little bit too dodgy for us after a while. But then again, bearing in mind that it's not usually the type of clubs we go to, it was ok overall.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
206 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Fantastic Concert Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Melkweg is a fantastic concert venue. It usually programs a vast array of artists ranging from pop/rock to jazz and world music. The ambiance is great, the two halls have good acoustics, there's a nice caffè and even an exhibition hall, where they usually hold art exhibitions. Definitely worth checking out!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank migliaribasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Boss, intimate gig venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Great venue.
Decent selection of drinks, not over priced.
Great location, I will be going to all of my gigs in Amsterdam from now on.

Helpful?
2 Thank qGonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melkweg also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Melkweg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing