We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“be aware of the acoustics” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koninklijk Theater Carre

Koninklijk Theater Carre
Book In Advance
$22.92*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
Ranked #53 of 466 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“be aware of the acoustics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

it is a nice building but it wasn't meant to be a concert hall (it was a circus) and therefore the acoustics are lousy ... if you know it and you don't go for the sound...it is a very enjoyable place

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank enama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    114
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Loved the circus in a building built especially for circuses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Theatre Carre was built to house circuses, and we were thrilled by the Wereld Kerst Circus (World Christmas Circus) that featured acts from acrooss the world - an brilliant American clown (Belo), breath-taking trapeze artists from North Korea, an amzing Italian ventriloquist and other acts from Russia, Vietnam, Italy and China.

This review, however, is about the venue.

Koninklijk Theater Carre is a stunningly gorgeous building on the banks of the River Amstel in eastern Amsterdam. It provides steeply tiered seating overlooking a 'theatre in the round'. Seats are very comfortable (although leg room is bit cramped). Access to the theatre and the ability to exit quickly is outstanding. Seats are on four levels and there are both stairs and lifts. Reastaurants and bars operate on most levels and there are enough cloak rooms to deal with demand quickly and efficiently.

Above all, this is a beautiful building that achieves its purpose efficiently.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LongReefHacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic theater with great seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were fortunate to buy tickets at the last minute for the final showing of Amsterdam's Winter Circus. This was the 29th year of the circus. We are so glad that we did not miss this amazing show. With approximately 12 acts and an intermission, the 3 hours flew by, leaving us wanting more. Though we were in the second to last row, due to the late purchase of the tickets, our view was amazing. We would most definitely see the Winter Circus again or any other production for that matter in the Carre Theater. The interior is beautiful and the view is amazing from any seat in the house. Check out their schedule before leaving home and book tickets for a production while you are in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 4WanderingWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Carre Circus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I would rate the Circus Carre as nothing less than excellent. We saw the show on the 01 Jan 2014, sat in Loge 10 and paid 57 euros per seat. The spectacle of about 12 different acts was wonderful. It was like being a kid again. If you are in Amsterdam going to the Carre is a must.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vanislecanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
236 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great historic theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This theatre is beautiful and also the right size (not too big). I went to the musical West Side Story and the sound was also good. I would recommend going to this theatre over something like the Circustheatre in Scheveningen, this one has true history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koninklijk Theater Carre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koninklijk Theater Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing