We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Most beautiful theatre in Holland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koninklijk Theater Carre

Koninklijk Theater Carre
Book In Advance
$24*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
Ranked #50 of 450 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
228 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Most beautiful theatre in Holland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the most prestious and beautiful theatre in Holland right on the edge of the canals. The performances range from classic theatre and music to circus. Pick your favourite and have a great night out. Pre-performance dinners can be had in the theatre itself if you book well beforehand - otherwise next door restaurants make sure you are fed and on time for the curtain.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wub67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    104
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming and Beautiful Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was lucky to see Eddie Vedder perform here. An amazing venue! Very comfortable seats, and great acoustics.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A circus theather ??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Officially opened as a circus theather but when i was there, I dont see any hint of it being one before. If it was a circus theater before, then it must have been the most beautiful circus theater in the world.
This theater deserves all the great review here in tripadvisor. A must see in Amsterdam if you love theater. I have visited this theater at least 10x and every time, I am still amazed buy the chadeliers and just the atmosphere.
During the breaks, you also have a great view of the River Amstel while having your champange or any beverage for that matter.
The only thing not so nice was the smoke on the balcony from the cigarette smokers. They should not allow smoking there as well. We all have the right to enjoy the view from the balcony indeed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Godwin Dumagat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groenekan, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Like the name suggests: ROYAL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

An awesome building - classic in the best sense of the word. Whenever you have to chance to watch a performance here - go there - the atmosphere and acoustics are phenomenal. Only the best are allowed to get on this stage.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank K-Posse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
263 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture, good acoustics, poor service at times.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a beautiful theater with very nice interiors and architecture. I'd recommend paying a bit extra for the good seats (stalls or parterre sections). No seat is a bad seat, but it really does make a difference to be up close since the cheaper seats are generally way up in the rafters, making viewing a bit of a challenge.

I'd also recommend buying your tickets directly at the theater. There has been more than 1 occasion where we've purchased tickets from ticketservice.nl and the venue has screwed things up with booking multiple parties in the same seats. They definitely need to improve their system for bookings, or at minimum, handle the situation in a proper way when mistakes occur. When this has happened, they've even moved us back into cheaper seats than we paid for, which was quite disappointing.

That said, the venue is beautiful, and aside from the poor service of seating attendants on the ground/main floor (parterre), it's a very nice place to see a concert.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koninklijk Theater Carre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koninklijk Theater Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing