We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Johan Cruyff Arena
from $18.90
More Info
from $45.90
More Info
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
209
128
55
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
128
55
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stadium tour great stadium press room pitch side club shop tour guide an amazing experience great tour central station visiting amsterdam ajax concert field tickets dutch netherlands stage
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's the 2nd time I've been to the Johan Cruyff Arena, this time to see Sweden try to qualify directly for the 2018 WC. It failed but this arena is a very good one - you enter suickly and hassle-free, escalators bring you to the top tiers, the view of the pitch is great and unencumbered by pillars. The only drawback was that getting out of the arena after the game took some time. Public transport is close, and there are quite a few eating places around. Great football venue!

Thank Karim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Me and two friend went on a stadium tour while visiting Amsterdam back in July and we enjoyed the experience, disappointing that the museum was so small but everything else was excellent.

Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Came for an Ajax game and had a great time. A bit more subdued than most European soccer games, but still a great atmosphere. The only down side is the stadium, while on a metro line, is a ways out of town.

Thank sjohnston12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

While visiting the Netherlands for our first time, we bought tickets for the Sat, 9/15 Ajax/Groningen match weeks in advance, from Ajax's website. Unfortunately, the bar code scanner at the entrance couldn't read our electronic tickets. We were told that the nearby service counter could print the tickets for us. We waited in a very slow line for nearly 30 minutes to get help with this. Once the tickets were finally printed, they STILL wouldn't scan properly, and we had to wait in line AGAIN. The line was shorter this time but once we finally were able to enter the arena, the first half was over. We were extremely frustrated and disappointed. And then, the man seated in front of us began smoking cigarettes which made it really hard to enjoy the match. Apparently, smoking in the arena is not allowed, but as foreigners we didn't want to get into an altercation so we didn't say anything.

Please allow me to recommend printing your tickets before going to a match, rather than relying on electronic tickets in PDF form! Had we brought printed tickets with us, our setback may have been averted.

Thank Bri311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

The stadium is amazing with incredible acoustic. I definitely recommend to watch a game there. The atmosphere is great. Really easy to access by train. In every gate and also you can buy food or something to drink.

Thank tasosk1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

The Johann Cruyff Arena is a nice stadium, and the tour is a great way to see it all. Very informative, and the young guide kept us amused with his jokes. Closest metro stop is Biljmer Arena. Highly recommended.

Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

I attend the tour with my partner who is a fan of football, I am not. The tour was still really interesting and you got to see behind the scenes, press rooms, dressing rooms, etc. The tour was 75 mins and at the end you get to spend time in the museum. I think there could have been more behind the scenes facts but what we were told was still interesting. My partner really enjoyed it. I paid €12 with a discount voucher.

Thank Jenine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

We did a tour of this stadium while in Amsterdam. A lot of the tour focuses on the football teams history and even as a non football fan I found it enjoyable. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and great with the young children on the tour. It was all conducted in English so thankfully language wasn’t an issue. Definitely worth doing if you are nearby or have the Amsterdam pass as this is free with it.

Thank Manicrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

I've now been to the Johan Cryuff (formerly Amsterdam) Arena twice for football (soccer) matches - In June 2015 for the USA-Netherlands friendly (US won 4-3) and now in August 2018 for the Ajax-Dynamo Kiev 2018-19 UEFA Champions League first leg.

When we went in 2015, it was a friendly (exhibition) and the Dutch fans were incredibly friendly and jovial, even after they lost.

This time around, there was much on the line and the hard core supporters were out in full force. We expected that. What we didn't expect was the number of fireworks, smoke bombs and other pyrotechnics that were set off in very close proximity to the crowds, in the surrounding plazas and under the pedestrian tunnels with almost zero regard by security and/or police. It was loud and jarring, (especially since we were in Boston the day of the Marathon bombings right near where they were set off) and it really freaked out our son. That, plus the sheer amount of garbage that was scattered all over everywhere, including empty beer cans and broken bottles made for a disgusting and unsafe environment. And that's before I mention the overflowing outdoor urinals and people peeing almost everywhere - against walls, fences and even out in the open. We had to trudge through trash both on our way in and on our way out of the stadium. It was appalling. I've been to football matches all over the world - Brazil, Panama, Germany, the US and this was by far the worst I've ever seen.

Plus, incessant smoking inside the arena. Not just in the corridors, but in the actual seating areas Seriously, who the hell allows this anymore in this day and age?

Despite all that negativity, the game itself was amazing. Ajax won 3-1 and could have easily added a couple more goals had they not hit the woodwork. And the atmosphere was great - the fans were going before the kickoff to well after the final whistle. We sat in section 409 of the upper balcony and the views were great.

Sadly, the outside experience really sullied our gameday. If we didn't have our son with us, it might not have been so bad. And if we do ever go back, we have this to look back on and prepare ourselves in advance.

1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Don’t miss this! A must do for any football fans! Tours take place every 20 mins, although we booked online first. The stadium was very helpful when we needed to change our time slot. The guide was excellent, explaining different parts of the stadium and was knowledgable about Ajax history. Highlights were dressing rooms and the museum (all those trophies!) the stadium itself is amazing !!! Good to have discount in the club shop after the tour! Tour guide translates in Dutch and English.

Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews