We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what they once were”
Review of Amsterdam ArenA

Amsterdam ArenA
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.92*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #48 of 514 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not what they once were”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The stadium is very modern and the atmosphere is great. The noise made by a large contingent reverberates around the ground. Unfortunately Ajax are not the team they once were despite winning 3-0. Go simply so you can see the stadium and say you've seen one of greatest teams in European history.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank darren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    278
    101
    44
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“rubbish football great stadium”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

we went to see ajax v salzburg in the europa cup for my husbands birthday last week, the stadium is really easy to reach from amsterdam from central station and the train stops right outside the stadium. there are many bars and restaurants outside the stadium, we tried to buy a drink in the stadium but was told they didnt sell alcohol even though we could see people with pints, we then found out they only sell non alcoholic beer, we also tried to buy food but you can only use a card, which you have to get in exchange for cash as you enter the stadium which we didnt realise. so hungry and thirsty we entered the arena, we had seats behind the goal which were great and each chair had flags to wave at the beginning which was created a good atnosphere. unfortunately ajax got beat 3-0 and played awful but overall was a great experience

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unable to create a good atmosphere”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This stadium is not that impressive. From the outside it looks more like a UFO than a football stadium. From the inside it looks a lot better but then the atmosphere in the stadium is really below average. Even if the supporters do their best to sound loud it is just not waving around properly. The quality of the announcements is also not great and barely understandable. Also during concerts and during massive dance events when I visited this stadium the sound was often terribly off.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankVanSteenwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Roger waters-The wall !! ”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I went to see this in September, ive also saw this concert in milan.

But was much cheaper to see it in Amsterdam! And it was just as amazing.
As usual in places like this food , drink etc is extremely expensive but we should all expect that by now.
I would love to go back to see another concert or a football game!.
Staff were nice.
Id say you are better ordering a taxi or something to pick you up if thats how your planning on getting home as there is massive ques of people also waiting.we luckily ordered one.
Great experience

Helpful?
Thank staceyXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ajax v PSV Eindhoven 19/01/14”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My fifth visit to an Ajax match...and the experience was as good as ever. The fans are good spirited and get right behind Ajax all the way through the match. After some initial ticket problems (OAD Reizen going bust) I was able to obtain a seat in Vak 117! Good location

Great atmosphere............ I'll be back many times again :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brisolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam ArenA also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam ArenA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing