We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great parks - for kids and grown-ups alike”
Review of Amstelpark

Amstelpark
Ranked #84 of 517 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great parks - for kids and grown-ups alike”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I couldn't believe how quiet this park is on a sunny, Thursday morning in July! Myself, a few people with books in hand, a handful of couples strolling, a few retirees and some parents with small children (absolutely AWESOME playground I wish I had my kids with me - great huge covered slide, flying fox, rope bridges to tree house among other things). The whole park while deserted was so relaxing. I walked through Japanese garden, past the water fountains, there was minigolf, small glassed-in art galleries, hydrangea gardens, natural gardens, manicured gardens, restaurants... even came across an enclosure with llamas and kangaroos. Unfortunately the miniature train didn't seem to be running, but it would be well worth it. At the south end you come across farm animals and find one of the only windmills within Amsterdam city limits. Overall I am in awe how few people were there. Just a short bike ride from Amsterdam it was well worth it. Don't know what everyone is doing in Vondelpark and no one here?! I guess tourists would need to take the leap of faith to venture a tiny bit south of the city. The easiest way (and interesting!) was to find the Amstel river and then just head south. You'll come across it. Big blue-yellow gate.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CfromV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    53
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Refreshing walk thru nature in the midst of the city”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Amstelpark is one of my favorite walking and jogging place in Amsterdam, set near hotels and convention center, it gives one a refreshing break and bond with nature. Not too crowded, just the right size with flowers and trees in several varieties. Certainly a place you would want to go back to.

Helpful?
Thank doc8reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“it must be in the air”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Amstelpark is one of the liveliest most relaxing parks I have ever been in Europe. Everyone is smiling and all the shopkeepers around are very corteous. Come here in the middle of the afternoon to take photos. It's true what they say in danish paintings, the sun reflects differently on this part of the world. all my photos are vivid and colorful.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacuacera_cct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“NICE”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

a very nice place to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon

Helpful?
1 Thank Archimedesrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great park if you have kids”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The previous reviewer seems to be confused because this is definitely not a hotel but a park mainly for children. There are loads of play areas as well as a small train and a petting zoo with Shetland ponies, sheep and goats. It's such a quiet, calm area for families just south of the city center. Highly recommend if you have kids.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hkteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amstelpark also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amstelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing