We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well cooked steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Maria

De Maria
Ranked #996 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well cooked steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Situated on Rembrandsplein the staff were friendly but not pushy. We had 'Argentinian starters which were very nice. The speciality was steak and both of ours were cooked beautifully and did melt in the mouth. If steak is your thing, then it is worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blok103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    64
    34
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Food not cooked to how you like. T Bone steak not really worth the money and staff couldn't have been less interested. Food thrown on to table at you. Beer not cold either and in a city that professes great heineken......heineken was poorly poured and tasteless. Try elsewhere. Avoid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkandAmy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Eat the ribs their awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great food reasonably priced super portions not 1 of us cleared our plates.
Easy going staff totally enjiyable experience


  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ribman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good steak!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had read that restaurants in Rembrandt Square were mostly overpriced tourist traps, so was not planning to try any of them on a recent trip to Amsterdam. However due to cold weather we didn't want to go too far from our hotel and gave De Maria a go. Turned out to be a pleasant little restaurant with good service. But the best surprise was the steak, it was probably some of the nicest steak we have ever had, great flavour, tender and cooked just right.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My bf and I went here for an evening meal during a 3 day break to Amsterdam (stayed at Eden Hotel).
We were attracted to the rustic, traditional-looking appearance, and the price of the food on the menus outside, being slightly overshadowed by the other surrounding, bigger restaurants, and also by the fact that you didn't have anyone breathing down your neck as soon as you were seen looking at the menu, explaining the Specials - something that usually puts us off - De Maria obviously has a good reputation and has no need to pressure people to choose it in this way.
So t he inside was lovely - had character, romantic atmosphere and smiles from the waiters/waitress as soon as you walked in. We sat near the food prep area/bar - I always think it's good to have an open cooking area, which shows confidence in the chefs and so that you can see your food being made in front of your very eyes.
We ordered the meat patties to start, which were really tasty but not much filling. My bf then ordered the ribs, which he had seen on someone else's table as we walked through to be seated - you got so much for your money, plus chips and salad. I think they were around 10-12EUROS - well worth it - my bf was stuffed and said they were gorgeous! I had the chicken breasts, same kind of price, which had a beautiful glaze, served with salad and a massive jacket potato & sour cream. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals.
The service was quick and friendly, and the waiters/waitress made you feel valued.
We didn't order a dessert as we were too full, but we saw other people's and they looked scrummy - sundaes tops with cream & ice cream.
The price of drinks was reasonable too.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone wishing to enjoy quality food in a quality setting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Maria also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing