We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bible what?”

Bible Museum (Bijbels Museum)
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.53*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #183 of 503 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Bible what?”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Bijbels Museum was a mood breaker during our visit of Amsterdam. Nicely represented as a museum of Bibles, all we saw was one room with couple of bookshelves and some Bibles maybe 150 years old. Rest of the rooms in the museum were filled with modern art in no way related with Bibles or religion.

Expectation was to learn a bit about this aspect of religion in Amsterdam and Holland, and all we got was a mush-mash of art.The bright thing was a authentic kitchen! And the elevator. Regarding the Bibles collection, well... I found a book of psalms in Dutch dated 1852. in one of the Curiosity and antiques shops for a price of 12,50 €. With a little browsing through shops, you can own their collection in a day!

Sorry Bijbels Museum!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank denis_novosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    24
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not really a Bible museum”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I did not feel that this museum was worth the entry price (10 Euros at time of visit). The majority of the house is taken up with a temporary exhibit, which when I visited was about flower still-lifes and their allegorical symbolism. I'm not a big art fan, so this wasn't something I would normally have gone to see. Regardless, it was somewhat interesting. The actual permanent exhibit is hidden in an upstairs room, and it's not very big or very well-documented at all. The main attraction, the temple replica, wasn't even open when I went. I would say, there are better things to see in Amsterdam.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Promises too much but doesn't deliver”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The museum promises to explain "how the Bible came into existence, and the influence that the Bible has had on Dutch society throughout the ages." In reality, it has a few nice Egyptian antiquities, some still lifes from the Dutch Golden Age and a nice, serene small garden. That's about it. Okay but not really worth investing time and money if you're in a hurry.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aviv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Different from expectations”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is not a museum of bible's. It's a wonderful old building with a strange mixture of collections (stuffed birds, models of Jerusalem, mummy's etc.) by the founder of the museum. And the small garden behind the building is an oasis. Different, and a wonderful, relaxing place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank J.P.Hernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dissappointment”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nothing much to see relating to the bible. The model of tabernacle was not available on the day we visited. Only plus is opportunity to see the interior of the old canal house.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KualaLumpurHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bible Museum (Bijbels Museum) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bible Museum (Bijbels Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing