We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice zoo in the city center”

ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.57*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #17 of 509 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stroll among the shady trees, admire the diversity of plants and animals, travel to the stars, enjoy our heritage. Visit ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo and experience nature right in the city centre.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice zoo in the city center”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice zoo with a variety of animals in the city center. The place is colourful with a lot of flowers. I totally agree with another reviewer saying that "the zoo itself is not the biggest or most impressive but incredibly beautiful."
The zoo was a little bit pricey (about 20€/person) but the ticket also included the entrance to the aquarium.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,785
    1,577
    487
    133
    89
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful zoo right in the centre of the city”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We visited the zoo in order to kill a few hours on our last day in Amsterdam and were sorry we had to leave. It was right in the centre of the city, easy to walk to and find and not too pricey. The zoo itself is not the biggest or most impressive but incredibly beautiful, with lovely old buildings and a rich history, being one of the oldest zoos in Europe. We particularly loved the large conservatory type buildings filled with tropical plants, monkeys and birds that you are free to walk through. The aquarium is also well worth the visit and is included in the price. All in all a wonderful day out and most certainly one to visit to get away from the busy city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice day out”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We went on a summer Saturday evening for a few hours. Beautiful gardens, places to have picnics, live music & friendly staff. You can get up close to most of the animals. A pleasant way to fill in a few hours

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nerida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Go there in the early morning to the opening time. You will like it without no doubts! Big, atmospheric, with great number of animals and birds, it will be good variant not only for those who are with children, but for those who and alone and adult.
Tasty food in the cafe opposite open-air cage with giraffes and zebras.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadezda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outdated french fries farm”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I know this zoo all my life, and it has basically not improved. I can only feel sorry for the animals encaged in rather minimalistic confinements. The quantity of animals on the limited space of this zoo is not of interest. Rather fewer species, but higher quality spacious living quarters within a species specific habitat-like environment. This zoo rates low on my list of worldwide zoos that I have had the luxury to visit during my travels.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing