We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artis Zoo

Artis Zoo
Book In Advance
$62.84*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #19 of 452 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Artis Zoo, just to the east of central Amsterdam, provides a good deal for children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Go there in the early morning to the opening time. You will like it without no doubts! Big, atmospheric, with great number of animals and birds, it will be good variant not only for those who are with children, but for those who and alone and adult.
Tasty food in the cafe opposite open-air cage with giraffes and zebras.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadezda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,197
    1,285
    410
    119
    78
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outdated french fries farm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I know this zoo all my life, and it has basically not improved. I can only feel sorry for the animals encaged in rather minimalistic confinements. The quantity of animals on the limited space of this zoo is not of interest. Rather fewer species, but higher quality spacious living quarters within a species specific habitat-like environment. This zoo rates low on my list of worldwide zoos that I have had the luxury to visit during my travels.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to the zoo expecting to kill a couple of hours but ended up staying here for most of the day!
There's plenty to see for everyone, an amazing aquarium & a play-park for children. There's also a planetarium which we didn't visit as it was getting late by the time we found it.
The cafe was very good value for money too in a city where a burger will set you back £14.
An adult ticket cost 19 Euros & included entry to the zoo, the aquarium & the planetarium.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTraveledPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Zoo trip Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A lovely zoo with a nice park relaxed atmosphere the staff were welcoming and friendly.The animals looked well looked after, Well laid out everything easy to find and easy access from city centre.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catriona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you travel with children or if you like to visit a Zoo where the animals are well taken care of, then don't miss it. It was a really enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artis Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Artis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing