We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoo trip Amsterdam”

ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.81*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
More Info
$68.12*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #20 of 518 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stroll among the shady trees, admire the diversity of plants and animals, travel to the stars, enjoy our heritage. Visit ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo and experience nature right in the city centre.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
“Zoo trip Amsterdam”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

A lovely zoo with a nice park relaxed atmosphere the staff were welcoming and friendly.The animals looked well looked after, Well laid out everything easy to find and easy access from city centre.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catriona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,905
    1,643
    508
    138
    92
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you travel with children or if you like to visit a Zoo where the animals are well taken care of, then don't miss it. It was a really enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best zoo ever!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This zoo is amazing and is a must do for everyone that visits Amsterdam. The animals are very well looked after and it appears a much more open and friendly zoo compared to many. There are good restaurants and cafes for people to visit too. It was not over crowded and offered great value for money with an excellent low price!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma2104916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place to escape the busy city centre”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great zoo with lots of different animals. Great for families, but we enjoyed it as a couple as well. We enjoyed the design of the buildings and the absence of massive overbearing cages. A lovely place to spend a morning or afternoon. Good zoo but nothing spectacular or massively different from other large zoos.

The price may be a bit high, but we bought an I Amsterdam card which included the entry price, so was well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best zoo we ever visited”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was expensive to enter , 20 Euro per person.
But we really liked it .Animals really feel great there ans are super active I never so such active animals in zoo.Zoo planed in a way that each time you discover new corners there. Not too crowded and had extra activities. Recommended to tourists with young children.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MtlPAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing