We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artis Zoo

Artis Zoo
Book In Advance
$62.87*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #19 of 452 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Artis Zoo, just to the east of central Amsterdam, provides a good deal for children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A great day out, we spent a full day here and had a lovely time. A great collection of animals, including an aquarium, bug house and reptile house. Had lunch in the restaurant, which was a bit pricey but that is to be expected in large attractions like this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,201
    1,285
    411
    119
    78
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Amazing zoo! :):):) must go to if visiting amsterdam! So many different animals and species and an amazing aquarium!!!

Helpful?
Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is well maintained zoo, with a good collection. I especially enjoyed the butterfly house, and small mammal house. However, it suffers from the same problem as many city zoos, which is lack of space, and I would be happier to see some of the animals (elephants, wolves, etc) moved to an institution which can provide them with more appropriate enclosures.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurelin_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Great visit to Artis - really professional and non-commercialised. Animals look really well taken care of and staff really friendly and helpful.
Must check out the Apes and chimpanzees - great visit overall. Money well spent and great value

Helpful?
Thank DGUK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Little Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this zoo. A little on the smaller side than I'm use to and the price was about twice as much as ones I've been to in the US. The zoo is obviously older but because of that I think it's why it has so many trees/plants and the walkways are not as wide and open as you'd expect to see in US Zoos and it makes the zoo nicer overall. Some of the animals you can get right up next to, including an indoor exhibit with a room that the monkeys are roaming free.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artis Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Artis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing