We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent day for childrens and adults”

ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$45.43*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #17 of 510 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stroll among the shady trees, admire the diversity of plants and animals, travel to the stars, enjoy our heritage. Visit ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo and experience nature right in the city centre.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“excellent day for childrens and adults”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great range of animals and lots of baby animals on view, able to get very close to the animals lots of cafes and picnic areas really recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thefamousfiveboyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,781
    1,575
    487
    133
    90
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great zoo with lots to do. 19.50 per person on the door so i would recommend buying tickets before hand. we walked there from central station and it took ages so I would get the tram if i went back, we got the tram on the way home and it was only 2.80 euros each. food at the zoo was reasonable and not overpriced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect on a sunny day!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

You can't get much better in Amsterdam for a family friendly place which you can literally stay all day in! I recommend on a sunny day taking a picnic with you and really making use of the great green spaces they have! The variety of animals is great, the children's climbing area & slides are brilliant. The aquarium is outstanding and during the summer months the zoo is open until sunset! One tip I would give you is to take your own drinks as bottles of water & pop are expensive however ice creams and ice lollies are quite reasonable! Enjoy :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warbe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“THIS ZOO IS GREAT !”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

we set aside a morning for a visit to the zoo since we had a 6 year old with us. it was a great decision and would recommend it for anyone...not just children. It is a hugh area and very well planned out. the exhibits were very well done. there is plenty of shade, flowers, playgrounds and gardens. If I ever go back to Holland, I will definitely go back there

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hoop44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Day Out!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a great attraction! It's a full day out, took us 6 hours to see everything! Recommended! It cost around 20 Euro to get in, and was worth every penny! Some of the animals were roaming freely, so it was great being able to interact with them! The butterfly house was amazing, as was Lizard house.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank h0llyp0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing