We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT!”

Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments
Ranked #247 of 502 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the Middle Ages, Torture was a widely known punishment for almost all crimes committed, ranging from rape to murder, and above all for heresy. The Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments displays over 100 devices in 5 areas., with and unique collection of photos, drawings, torture tools, and wax figures.Is located in DAMRAK 33 , 2 min walk from Central Station
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Visited in Sept 2012 and again in Nov 2012 - loved it. Great informative but fun place to visit. Slight sound and special effects as you enter and loads of really interesting and highly shocking artifacts and salvaged implements of sheer torture. It's also great because it never seems crowded or rushed. Photos allowed and even a webcam opportunity on the second floor to email to your friends. Very informative in a gruesome fun way. I love this place and the staff are really relaxed, helpful and friendly. Gift shop and WC downstairs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCzu, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Visitor!

Many Thanks for your rating and review! It's great to hear that you visited us twice in such a short time! In order to make your next visit to Amsterdam even better, please send us your email and details. We would like to send you some free tickets and other discounts/information.
You can also find us in facebook.

Thanks again and have a great day!

Best Regards,
The Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    73
    107
    49
    53
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Impressive signs for a small museum”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The entrance, location & neon sign for this museum are very impressive and while the exhibits and associated information are very interesting, the building itself is not well set out with the items squeezed together on 4 small sets over 4 floors. I felt like it was just laid out in a shop building rather than a well thought out museum with atmosphere.

The exhibits are certainly interesting, with plenty of information and entrance fee only 7 euros, but I was left with a rather flat impression of the attraction. It is obvious not much money was spent on the staging.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCzu, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Gill10,

Thanks for your review. Sadly i must inform you that you may have not visited our Museum, the Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments , because our entrance is 6,50. We are located very close (2 min) from the central station. You may have visited another museum that is located close of the flower Market of the city.

We would kindly ask you if it would be fair to recieve a rating or review for a place that is not ours.

Our exposition has a total of 5 areas including a bar open on the weekends.

Please Notice that some of the pictures shown at this page are not neccesary from our place, as other reviewers have added them as well by mistake. We are currently working on this mistake.

Best Regards,

The Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“I was hoping for more”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am not sure exactly what I was hoping for, but it was certainly more than we actually got. There is not a huge ammount to see to be honest and the whole thing is over faily quick... However I must say that the information on display about many of the items is plentiful and informative. I would say though that for the ammount which you pay its possibly not quite worth it, and certainly no where near as much fun as the sex museum just next door.

Upon leaving you go through the gift shop which you get a discount voucher for, but to be honest all it is, is a fairly expensive generic Amsterdam gift shop (same as you walk past just on the street) and an off-license.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCzu, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Geckokus,

Thanks for your review. We are sorry we could not show you a better time at our Museum. We promise to make a strong effort in order to improve the torture experience!

In the other hand our souvenir shop (with all licenses needed by law) gives the oportunity to our visitors to recieve a discount of the normal prices in every souvenir store at the probably most expensive street in Amsterdam for gifts and souvenirs. For better prices we would recommend of course the Duty Free Areas at our very best Schiphol.

Best Regards,

Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bring your older children”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very interesting and authentic peices. It makes taking a phone or iPad away look simple. Not for the littler ones though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alysia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very entertaining on a wet afternoon”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place had quite a large collection over 4 floors but wouldn't say it was worth 10 euros each. Although we managed to use up an hour in there and it gave us lots of laughs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing