We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments

Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments
Ranked #229 of 482 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the Middle Ages, Torture was a widely known punishment for almost all crimes committed, ranging from rape to murder, and above all for heresy. The Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments displays over 100 devices in 5 areas., with and unique collection of photos, drawings, torture tools, and wax figures.Is located in DAMRAK 33 , 2 min walk from Central Station
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Quite interesting to walk around, there are quite a few flights of stairs so could be difficult for people with walking difficulties. It was quiet when we went in, which was good. Took us about an hour to go around.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cazzzie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    72
    105
    48
    51
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Interesting hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was an interesting and different experience, does not take long but then it didn't cost much either.

Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Two museums, confusing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I actually went to the smaller "Torture Museum" on one of the canal streets instead of the "Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments" on Damrak because I got confused and didn't find the larger one until I'd already gone here. The steep entry price (7.50 Euros for the smaller one and 10 Euros for the bigger one) prevented me from visiting both. It's not a bad museum, well laid out with interesting information and gruesome pictures from the time about the history and use of each object. A bit dark which makes taking photos difficult, but at least you're allowed to do that :) Perhaps not worth the price but an interesting find, in any case. I like that you can touch most of the objects in the museum (as long as you're discreet) so it's hands-on if not interactive. The wax figures advertised in the bigger museum are missing from this one, which is a shame. If you're curious about this part of history, it's worth it, otherwise, go for a bigger (and less expensive) museum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear visitor,
Thanks for your review, We are not sure if you did visit our museum. Our museum is on the one really close to the Central Station. If you did visit the other museum, i would kindly ask you please to check if your rating and review would be fair to us because we are not the museum you mention.
If we are indeed the museum you mention, we are terrible sorry we could not show you better time at our museum, and we will make a big effort on improving our museum!

Please if the pictures are not from our museum, we would kindly ask you to remove them for the review.

Thanks again
Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments
DAMRAK 33 / Between the Central Station and The Dam Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“two torture museums”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

there is one that is on the busy street that the palace and Madame tussads is on and there is one one a canal street on the way to Anne franks house. we went to the one on the canal street it wasn't too small but not very interactive - interesting though! not sure about the other one supposedly the canal one is better

Helpful?
Thank rizzyriz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patrick G, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Visitor,

We notice that your review is about the torture museum on the canal street. This museum has no connection at all with our museum close to the Central Station. Therefore we would kindly ask you to check if it is fair for us to get a rating or a review for a place that is not ours.

Thanks again

Best Regards,
Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very interesting and educational, you can learn many of human history from a different perspective, plus you can take all the pictures you want

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank iksolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing