We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Gross” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sexmuseum Amsterdam Venustempel

Sexmuseum Amsterdam Venustempel
Book In Advance
$53*
and up
Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour
Ranked #72 of 448 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

there's nothing much to see in the museum, mostly posters on walls and some statues and stone or wood carvings. it's really boring. although it only cost EURO4, but actually don't bother to waste your time there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank almostnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    902
    760
    233
    121
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hilarious & Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A really odd experience, but pretty interesting none the less. Great value too at only €4. A quote from my friend: "There's just something not right about looking at porn. With your friends. In a public place." So I could be one to miss if you're a bit of a prude. Loads of 19th & 20th century porn which is interesting, and different sex toys and artefacts. I personally just saw the funny side of it and didn't take anything too seriously. Free WiFi throughout although it isn't that great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 04housemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good laugh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I visited here to kill some time whilst in Amsterdam. It was appealing as it was very cheap to get in. We had such a laugh! There were many photos and sculptures which opened your eyes a little! Was rather interesting to see how things have changed over time. We took lots of photos and it certainly gave us a giggle for the rest of the day. Worth a go for so little money!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really interesting and shocking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was a brilliant museum! I wasn't expecting so much due to the small fee, but we were there for ages looking at hundreds of photos from the ages, sculptures, artwork and so much more. It was super informative and very explicit (don't go if you're prudish.....or with your parents) but it wasn't seedy at all. A must!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hollyberry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was a very interesting place to visit. It seemed a little run down and in need of modernizing and updating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank p_owen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sexmuseum Amsterdam Venustempel also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sexmuseum Amsterdam Venustempel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing