We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A good laugh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sexmuseum Amsterdam Venustempel

Sexmuseum Amsterdam Venustempel
Book In Advance
$54*
and up
Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour
Ranked #73 of 453 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good laugh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I visited here to kill some time whilst in Amsterdam. It was appealing as it was very cheap to get in. We had such a laugh! There were many photos and sculptures which opened your eyes a little! Was rather interesting to see how things have changed over time. We took lots of photos and it certainly gave us a giggle for the rest of the day. Worth a go for so little money!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    932
    786
    241
    125
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really interesting and shocking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was a brilliant museum! I wasn't expecting so much due to the small fee, but we were there for ages looking at hundreds of photos from the ages, sculptures, artwork and so much more. It was super informative and very explicit (don't go if you're prudish.....or with your parents) but it wasn't seedy at all. A must!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hollyberry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was a very interesting place to visit. It seemed a little run down and in need of modernizing and updating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank p_owen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for a laugh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

For 4 euros, its a bargain! You have to go in knowing what you are going to see is pretty graphic as I overheard some tourists tutting at some of the items - not sure what they were expecting... It provides a good giggle and you do come away having learnt a few things! It is certainly an eye opener and for such a small price, definitely worth a visit while you are there. Just don't take it too seriously and be open minded!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Too much of a good thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We had time to kill and thought we might learn something ( we are only 60)!
This exhibition is well laid out and easy to walk around .
So many old photographs well displayed by the year they were taken and in such good repair. Nothing seems to have changed much over the years it was just more risqué back then and so many clothes to get out of!
The model of Marilyn Monroe was beautiful and while it was very repetitive it was well done and a different way to spend some time adding to my education...
Took a while to stop blushing!

Helpful?
Thank deb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sexmuseum Amsterdam Venustempel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sexmuseum Amsterdam Venustempel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing