We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not good in winter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus)

Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus)
Book In Advance
$75*
and up
Amsterdam Small-Group City Segway Tour
Ranked #59 of 453 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not good in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Agree with previous reviewer that too much is missed when visiting in winter. We were disappointed. Probably lovely in summer.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    244
    118
    38
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not A Good Idea In Winter!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My first mistake was going in the Winter, so most of the outdoor plants were dead! I have tried to take this into account when giving my rating. There was a small butterfly house which was nice, but not the best one I've been to; and a tropical house with some tropical trees and plants. The best bit was the larger tropical house divided into three rooms, tropical, desert, and rainforest. Fascinating with quite a bit of information about the environments and types of plants. It is quite small though. Still, it was a pleasant stroll around, peaceful and relaxing.
There is a small café selling hot drinks (very welcome on that day!) and a small selection of food. The staff were friendly.
Also look out for the cute little manx cat with no tail. Will allow you to stroke him but can turn on you as some poor girl found out!
It was about 8 Euros to get in, probably worth it in spring and summer, when I imagine the gardens to be beautiful, but I wouldn't recommend it in Winter. Maybe if they offered a discount in the Winter months.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank master_midian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Botanical winter gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wintertime beauty
Glaze of icicles bend leaves
Entombment of frost.

Had to use 100 characters, therefore, Haiku. Haiku when in doubt.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caried1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wet day passtime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

we recently stayed in the Tropen hotel unfortunately the day we decided to take a stroll the heavens opened so we went to the botanical gardens which was within walking distance of our hotel what a worth while experience, would recommend this gem for a very relaxing time out . Loved the butterfly house and full of interesting information on plants .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Break from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A very calm and green setting. The green houses were wonderful and they had stairs and bridges to get a birds eye view as well. This was a great way to take a break and enjoy natures beauty while in a city. I really enjoyed the lily pond.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mil0d0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing