We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Special Troy Exhibit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam

Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam
Book In Advance
Skip the Line
$46*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #129 of 453 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
Brisbane
Level Contributor
450 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Special Troy Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I went to check out the Egyptian artifacts and was excited by the Troy Exhibit as well. Pick up an English translation booklet for Troy so you know what you are looking at.Great display for Ancient History lovers

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    33
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nazeing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Waiting Room.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Beautiful old historical building now connected to the University of Amsterdam. We visited the Troy exhibition and it was well worth the visit. Nice convenient locker room at the entrance to dump your coat and bags and a polite and helpful lady on the main reception desk. We used our IAMSTERDAM cards to enter free of charge.
There is a sweet little wood panelled room with two victorian armchairs and a coffee table with books on Troy (in English) - a lovely place to sit and relax. This we did and wondered what the room once was with its bronze umbrella stands and stained glass... Hilarious thing was with us sitting in this small room people walking past one by one kept walking into the room, quickly realised there was nothing in it but us and desperately tried to find something to look at before rushing out again.... You had to be there!! But it bought us to tears of laughter after a number of people awkwardly experienced "the waiting room" and then walked out of our lives forever - It was Priceless....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not much to it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I love archeology and make it a point to visit archeological museums when I travel. There is really not much to recommend the Allard Pierson. Large collection of small artifacts. Some nice reproductions of larger pieces. I did enjoy the Etruscan rooms very much. Almost no English text for explanation. Average museum in a city full of much better offerings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JimnArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Unexpected delightful antiquities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Allard Pierson Museum is the archaeological museum of the University of Amsterdam. The antiquities collection is excellent for a medium sized museum and displayed and interpreted very well, at least for us as non-specialists. Things that one probably knows well, like the Egyptian artefacts, are done in a new light that repays taking the time to look at them again. Also excellent is the Etruscan and Roman collection. Well worth several hours. Not all things are labelled in English. Buy the guidebook in English which is a good read in itself. Cafe has good coffee and cakes. Central location and easy to find.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lycomedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flobecq, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Allard Pierson museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

First off all I need to tell that I am an archaeologist, which probably affects my story.
The collection itself has a lot of great objects. Like people already mentioned the Egyptology collection is small but nice. But I was very disappointed about the text panels. There was not really a story it was just chronological exposed. The signs next to the object was mostly the only thing that was mentioned about an object or a group of objects. So I wonder what non-specialist learn by visiting the museum.
The exhibition of Troy was much better. There was a lot of explanation and interaction with the visitor. I hope this new way of presenting artefacts and stories to the people will be used to modernise the permanent collection of the museum.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Delphiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing