We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allard Pierson museum”

Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.46*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
More Info
$67.63*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #142 of 515 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
Flobecq, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Allard Pierson museum”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

First off all I need to tell that I am an archaeologist, which probably affects my story.
The collection itself has a lot of great objects. Like people already mentioned the Egyptology collection is small but nice. But I was very disappointed about the text panels. There was not really a story it was just chronological exposed. The signs next to the object was mostly the only thing that was mentioned about an object or a group of objects. So I wonder what non-specialist learn by visiting the museum.
The exhibition of Troy was much better. There was a lot of explanation and interaction with the visitor. I hope this new way of presenting artefacts and stories to the people will be used to modernise the permanent collection of the museum.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Delphiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    46
    41
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No English Audio Tour”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good exhibits of ancient Egyptian artefacts but really for specialist interests and academics. The museum was empty which tells you how limited it is! No English audio tour available, which would have made a big difference, and very few English explanations next to exhibits.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Allard Pierson Egyptology collection is one of the finest of the smaller collections I have seen. Many of the artefacts were given by Sir William Flinders Petrie to the university for teaching purposes. Among the artefacts are a beautifully carved Pre-dynastic ivory or bone lion gaming piece and a tiny but exquisite Amarna head. More substantial spieces from Oxyrhynchus and other Fayoum Greek sites are also on display. Interestingly the museum has also re-created one of the Dynasty 1 'servant' or subsidiary burials from Abydos, not often seen in a museum. Beautifully displayed with excellent information and in chronological order a visit can be as long and leisurely as you want. As the collection is all on one floor access is easy.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hale44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“An interesting archaeological museum”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This seems to be the main museum of archaeology in Amsterdam. You'll probably walk past it on the way from Dam Square to Rembrandtplein. It has a good collection of artefacts, particularly from Egypt and the Near East, and when I visited it was much less busy than other museums in the city. There's a nice cafe and shop, and you can use the Amsterdam City Card for free entry.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A high quality collection of antiquities”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This rather exceeded my modest expectations - when I went in December 2011, there was an extensive temporary exhibition on the Etruscans which was well worth while. I spent most of the rest of my time in the permanent Egyptian gallieries, which were stuffed with lots of interesting high-quality pieces. So much so, in fact, that I didn't get round to looking at their extensive permanent Greek and Roman collections.... Definitely go if you like antiquity!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing