We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very, very nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very, very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing hotel with so many good things. Sometimes a pros and cons analysis is simplest.

Pros:
-Amazing modern architecture in historic building
-Big room with comfy beds and gorgeous bathroom
-Really clean
-Helpful staff and lots of little perks in your room (fruit, water, etc.)
-Great location near Museumplein

Cons:
-Room electronics are a little confusing and sometimes flaky

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and thank you for evaluating the pros and cons of your stay with us. Fortunately the pros far outweigh the cons. The next time you are visiting the hotel we would be happy to give you a more detailed explanation about our room electronics to make your experience with us even better.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    170
    45
    25
    11
See reviews for
186
480
60
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The place really nice. We reserve for 5 guests, there were only other 4 people at the Restaurant when we arrive. We order two appetizers and five main courses, the appetizers were brought about 15 minutes, but for the main courses we had to want for an HOUR! The Food very plan, and with an HOUR wait, the experience was terrible!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Federico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Crolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The area in which the hotel is located is charming with museums, shopping and very close to a great canal ride. The staff were very helpful and our room was phenomenal. The hotel is quiet, luxurious, and has a wonderful atrium lobby to sit and people watch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind praise of our services and facilities. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

The hotel is stunning and the level of service I received was among the best I have ever experienced. I highly recommend The Conservatorium and would definitely stay there again if I ever make it back to Amsterdam! Although expensive, the quality of the amenities and level of service make it worth it.

The neighborhood is the museum district and a bit distanced from the hustle and bustle of the heart of the city. This may be a plus for some but could be a downside for those who want to step out of the front door and be in the center of shopping, cafes and nightlife.

I

Room Tip: If you get a corner room, you could get two exposures. Request a view of the street -- it's quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We also thank you for your warm recommendation and really hope that you can make it back to Amsterdam for another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a very good hotel. Created out of a vast former bank they have created the most amazing atrium that houses the (excellent) restaurant, bar and reception area. I could happily while away a few hours sitting in that space watching the world go by!
with 6-7 floors of rooms, they do stretch down rather long, dark impersonal corridors. But the (2) rooms we had were light and well designed with all the usual modern features. i never like rooms where you can't open the windows, i could just about on these, but if you desire fresh air you will have to rely on the air conditioning.
all the staff from the man that greats you, to the waiters and waitresses, reception, concierge were all superb. knowledgable, friendly and of course all speaking impeccable english. we particularly valued their restaurant recommendations, all local and 'just around the corner'.
we did not really use the spa, which looks like it is of top quality. there is certainly a beautiful relaxing pool with lovely facilities around it, and a top quality gym.
the hotel is located just off the canals, but is right next to the main museums, and being Amsterdam nothing is really that far away.
we will definitely come back

Room Tip: just ask. there must be hundreds of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonT962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We are thrilled to hear your enthusiasm about our services and facilities. I can assure you that your kind words make a lot of people feel great about the job that they do so passionately here. We are delighted to know that you would like to stay with us again in the future and we are looking forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was our first stay at the Conservatorium and we had a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful and situated near all of the museums and close to the gorgeous Vondel park. Luxury shopping also close by. Easy to walk to city center. Staff was very helpful and courteous. The bar offered great drinks and a fun atmosphere. Lobby a great place to sit and relax after a long day. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a hotel that offers a contemporary upscale experience.

Room Tip: Our suite was over the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and that you have enjoyed our location in the Fashion and Museum District. Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed in the Conservatorium hotel for the second time. First time was December 2013, second time was April 2014. Beautiful rooms, perfect beds and bed linen. Second time, I stayed in a room with a separate floor for the bed. Nice concept but a very small room, I must add. Most important however, the windows cannot be opened but if that room needed anything, it was fresh air. Would not stay again in this hotel before being assured that fresh air can come into the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbieluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again. I am disappointed however that your second stay did not live up to your previous experience at our hotel. For any future stays please be sure to inform us about your room preference. We would be more than happy to give you a room that fully meets your needs including windows that can be opened. We really hope you will be our guest again to experience a truly memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing