We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Room & Suite Rate
Ranked #10 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I just arrived home from a trip to several countries around Europe and the Conservatorium was the perfect way to end our trip! Having stayed in many luxury hotels during our previous traveling I can confidently say that this hotel ranks in the top 3 from around the world! From the moment we drove up to the hotel (which looks more like a museum!) we were given the most wonderful service and felt like celebrities the whole time.
Upon check-in we requested that our duplex room preferable not face the lobby since in our 2 previous hotels we had been facing the lobby and were anxious to have some sort of outdoor view. The receptionist was more than understanding and said that while there were no duplex rooms available with outdoor views, she would be happy to upgrade us to the next level of room with a lovely private tree view out to one of the quiet side streets beside the hotel. She then proceeded to show us up to the room herself and explain how all of the different amenities in the room work (lots of fancy modern technology!). There was also an entire bowl of fresh fruit and mineral water waiting for us which was the perfect touch after a morning full of travel and plane food.
We made good use of the BEAUTIFUL spa downstairs. After a day of sight seeing a hot sauna, whirlpool, and swim are just what the doctor ordered. We could have also booked different therapies, however, we found them quite pricey and were just as happy to enjoy the different water baths and steam rooms.
The location of the hotel is PERFECT especially for museum enthusiasts. There is also a grocery store half a block away which was ideal for us since we would frequently pick up some snacks, bread, and cheese and head to one of of the beautiful green areas in the city and have a picnic lunch or breakfast.
All in all, it was a truly memorable stay to finish off our wonderful trip. We have already made plans to come back and enjoy the wonderful hotel and city soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We are absolutely delighted to read that you have had such a great stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are also happy to know that you have been able to enjoy the relaxing experience of our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. We truly appreciate your kind comments and are extremely pleased to know that you are already planning to visit us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    162
    45
    24
    11
See reviews for
164
436
55
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our short stay. As hoteliers we always look at hotels a little different, but we can recommend it highly.
Super location, a symphathetic renovation and utilisation of a building that no doubt came with many caveats to protect the heritage values.
our welcome was tremendous by a very switched on doorman, who made us feel welcome from the very first second.
we loved the concierge services, who organised access to the museums we wanted to see and the fabulous bikes we used to get around with.
the lobby is nice and busy, which gives the hotel a very good vibe.

Next vist to Amsterdam (LOVE that city!!) we will stay much longer.

Room Tip: If you have the budget, go for a higher level room, you'll have a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMWolganvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are very happy to receive such favorable feedback from our colleague hoteliers. I am glad that I had a chance to meet you personally, and it was a pleasure having you and your wife as our guests. I am thrilled to know that you would like to come back in the future, and definitely hope I will also be able to explore your property sometime:).

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

From a distance you might believe you are approaching another Museum in the district by the same name, in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Don't be fooled. Suddenly, you come across a multi-story glass structure, and the vibe has changed. This is no Museum, but a hip, cool hotel, light filled, with friendly, helpful staff and a lobby filled with beautiful people. My wife and I stayed at the Conservatorium in Amsterdam for four days. The hotel is in the museum district, close to the must see Van Gogh Museum. and not far from everything there is to see in this friendly city. The staff could not have been more helpful. Our corner room, 330, was large, modern and spacious. The gym, was the best I have ever used in any hotel. The spa and restaurants in the hotel were superb as well. What made the Conservatorium so special however, was the friendly, courteous and professional vibe its entire staff emitted. They proved that a hotel can be both hip and modern, while catering to the discerning tastes of the well heeled... Cheers to the Conservatorium!

Room Tip: choose a corner room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAPRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and entertaining review, which we really enjoyed reading. We are very glad that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and enjoyed the mix of the historic building with modern design. We also thank you for highlighting our exquisite gym facilities and the courteous service. I assure you, your kind words make a lot of people feel great about the job that they do so passionately here. We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have stayed there from the 9th - 14th July and was very impressed overall.
The rooms are all equipped with ultra modern amenities; bed was very comfortable.
The staff lived up to the expectation of real 5 star standards all around.
The hotel has a fantastic gym and a great Spa.
Breakfast was lovely and the chef makes the best eggs benedict i've ever tried.
Wi-Fi was good with speedy connection.
The Tunes bar is a really cool place to chill out in the evening.
I spend approximitely 2 months of each year travelling and staying in 5 star hotels. This is about as good as it gets. I would highly reccomend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We are extremely pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind compliments to my team, and I am sure they will be delighted to hear they made such a wonderful impression. We hope your experience with us was just one of many to come, and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great property in the center of Amsrterdam, great service, nice rooms, wonderful breakfast! I advice everybody to stay there! All staff is very friendly and helpfull. Very beautiful property and Van Gogh and Rijks Museum right next door!

Room Tip: Room 702 - big bathroom which is bigger then the eoom - i really liked it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLyapakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Your kind words and vote of confidence give us great encouragement and we thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Conservatorium is a beautiful hotel in a very pleasant part of Amsterdam (not by the central station neighborhood), easy to get to with a tram stop right across from the front door. The gym is excellent with modern cardio equipment and both selectorized weight machines and free weights. The ceiling heights are very high in the rooms - we were in a 3rd floor duplex room that had a full bathroom on each level (ask for this, as not every room has it). The room didn't have an exterior view but instead overlooked the lobby - this wasn't a problem though, because the roof of the lobby is all glass, so plenty of natural light came in. The restaurant was very good for breakfast and afternoon snacks, though the bar seemed very quiet in the late afternoon when we went to visit.

Room Tip: If getting a duplex room, request one with two full bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TransConFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and thank you for highlighting our exquisite gym facilities and the delicious breakfast. We are glad that you have spent a lovely time at the Conservatorium Hotel and truly hope to welcome your back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

No words to describe the absolutely amazing architecture and decor. Great friendly staff (special thanks to the concierge team). Indoor pools and steam sauna are a must go. Very modern rooms, tvs, gadgets etc.

Room Tip: Rooms are very large in general and have unique decor for each category. Stayed in a rooftop suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your spacious room and the friendly service. We also thank you for recommending visiting our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. We hope that you will be our guest again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing