We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mr Hilton said it: location, location, location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #9 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr Hilton said it: location, location, location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our short stay. As hoteliers we always look at hotels a little different, but we can recommend it highly.
Super location, a symphathetic renovation and utilisation of a building that no doubt came with many caveats to protect the heritage values.
our welcome was tremendous by a very switched on doorman, who made us feel welcome from the very first second.
we loved the concierge services, who organised access to the museums we wanted to see and the fabulous bikes we used to get around with.
the lobby is nice and busy, which gives the hotel a very good vibe.

Next vist to Amsterdam (LOVE that city!!) we will stay much longer.

Room Tip: If you have the budget, go for a higher level room, you'll have a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMWolganvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are very happy to receive such favorable feedback from our colleague hoteliers. I am glad that I had a chance to meet you personally, and it was a pleasure having you and your wife as our guests. I am thrilled to know that you would like to come back in the future, and definitely hope I will also be able to explore your property sometime:).

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    169
    45
    25
    11
See reviews for
177
458
57
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

From a distance you might believe you are approaching another Museum in the district by the same name, in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Don't be fooled. Suddenly, you come across a multi-story glass structure, and the vibe has changed. This is no Museum, but a hip, cool hotel, light filled, with friendly, helpful staff and a lobby filled with beautiful people. My wife and I stayed at the Conservatorium in Amsterdam for four days. The hotel is in the museum district, close to the must see Van Gogh Museum. and not far from everything there is to see in this friendly city. The staff could not have been more helpful. Our corner room, 330, was large, modern and spacious. The gym, was the best I have ever used in any hotel. The spa and restaurants in the hotel were superb as well. What made the Conservatorium so special however, was the friendly, courteous and professional vibe its entire staff emitted. They proved that a hotel can be both hip and modern, while catering to the discerning tastes of the well heeled... Cheers to the Conservatorium!

Room Tip: choose a corner room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAPRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and entertaining review, which we really enjoyed reading. We are very glad that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and enjoyed the mix of the historic building with modern design. We also thank you for highlighting our exquisite gym facilities and the courteous service. I assure you, your kind words make a lot of people feel great about the job that they do so passionately here. We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have stayed there from the 9th - 14th July and was very impressed overall.
The rooms are all equipped with ultra modern amenities; bed was very comfortable.
The staff lived up to the expectation of real 5 star standards all around.
The hotel has a fantastic gym and a great Spa.
Breakfast was lovely and the chef makes the best eggs benedict i've ever tried.
Wi-Fi was good with speedy connection.
The Tunes bar is a really cool place to chill out in the evening.
I spend approximitely 2 months of each year travelling and staying in 5 star hotels. This is about as good as it gets. I would highly reccomend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We are extremely pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind compliments to my team, and I am sure they will be delighted to hear they made such a wonderful impression. We hope your experience with us was just one of many to come, and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great property in the center of Amsrterdam, great service, nice rooms, wonderful breakfast! I advice everybody to stay there! All staff is very friendly and helpfull. Very beautiful property and Van Gogh and Rijks Museum right next door!

Room Tip: Room 702 - big bathroom which is bigger then the eoom - i really liked it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLyapakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Your kind words and vote of confidence give us great encouragement and we thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Conservatorium is a beautiful hotel in a very pleasant part of Amsterdam (not by the central station neighborhood), easy to get to with a tram stop right across from the front door. The gym is excellent with modern cardio equipment and both selectorized weight machines and free weights. The ceiling heights are very high in the rooms - we were in a 3rd floor duplex room that had a full bathroom on each level (ask for this, as not every room has it). The room didn't have an exterior view but instead overlooked the lobby - this wasn't a problem though, because the roof of the lobby is all glass, so plenty of natural light came in. The restaurant was very good for breakfast and afternoon snacks, though the bar seemed very quiet in the late afternoon when we went to visit.

Room Tip: If getting a duplex room, request one with two full bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TransConFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and thank you for highlighting our exquisite gym facilities and the delicious breakfast. We are glad that you have spent a lovely time at the Conservatorium Hotel and truly hope to welcome your back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

No words to describe the absolutely amazing architecture and decor. Great friendly staff (special thanks to the concierge team). Indoor pools and steam sauna are a must go. Very modern rooms, tvs, gadgets etc.

Room Tip: Rooms are very large in general and have unique decor for each category. Stayed in a rooftop suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your spacious room and the friendly service. We also thank you for recommending visiting our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. We hope that you will be our guest again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I really liked the service and the concept, however it was far off the city. Other than that it was quite nice. The front desk people were really nice. The rooms are ok but not very big. If you plan on going to museums its very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that our location in the fashion & museum district was not entirely to your liking. But I am happy that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our courteous service. Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing