We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stunning, stylish hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #10 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning, stylish hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed a 2-day stay at this wonderful hotel. The staff were most attentive and seemed genuinely keen that guests were happy. We loved the modern, stylish bedroom & bathroom. Not the most comfortable bath in which to lie down but it looked good! It was a really luxurious experience staying at the Conservatorium.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your experience at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stylish room and the courteous customer service. However I regret that the bathtub was not entirely to your satisfaction. Please be advised that we have different types of bathtubs available, and we would be happy to show you other types on your next stay. Hopefully you will give us this chance to fully meet your expectations.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    162
    45
    24
    11
See reviews for
164
436
55
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is located in the museum area right opposite van gogh museum and a short walk to the Rijksmuseum. The tram 2 or 5 to central station is just outside the hotel entrance. This tram would pass through all the shopping and food areas, and also dam square before reaching central station. Ask the cab driver to stop outside the paul potter street entrance. The hotel interior is very modern. The service was exceptional – the staff that greeted us and opened the doors everyday, staff who helped with our bags, the front desk and concierge, everyone was approachable and willing to help. We initially booked a Junior suite but had a complimentary upgrade to a grand duplex suite with two floors. The staff at the front desk brought us to our room and showed us around the suite which was a nice touch. We were initially a bit hesitant to take the duplex suite as we were worried that the stairs could pose a problem for some of the guests and it would be troublesome going up and down. However we decided to take the room and it was a good experience with lots of space. The first floor had a long couch that was transformed into a narrow bed enough space for 1 person (they charge 100 euros for an extra person/night) with a nice TV, work desk and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was outstanding with 2 rain shower heads, 2 sinks, separate toilet stall and nice modern tub with L’occitane products. The second floor had 2 nice beds with another nice toilet (though no bath tub). However, there were a few practical issues. After using the rain showers, water would leak out of the shower area thus we had to use bathroom towels to soak up the water. The bathroom doors were very heavy and needed quite a bit of strength to pull open (this is true also for the sliding cupboards, you do need quite a bit of strength to slide open the cupboard door). Though there was a tv in the bathroom mirror, it was non-functional (there was no remote control). The first floor looked out on to the lobby and restaurant downstairs which was a bit scary if you wanted privacy, so request for a room facing the street if you get a duplex suite. One of the light bulbs on the second floor was also flickering, we wrote a note to house keeping but this problem was not rectified. There was one evening when we were locked out of our room because we had turned the door lock wrongly. Thus we had to wait for security to open our door and then get house keeping to come clean our room. Our safe was also locked the first night we arrived, thus security had to come to help us open the safe. The room was also quite dark and we couldn’t draw the curtains open too much due to the privacy issue as mentioned above. We requested for a simple tea cup to drink tea but it took 20 minutes to arrive (after calling them twice). On our check out day the staff at the front desk wanted to charge us for the upgrade and also charged us extra 300 euros. So please check your bill before you leave the hotel. After profusely apologizing for the mistake, the staff efficiently rectified the error. We didn’t use the gym but it looked very nice when we visited. Though the hotel was indeed very beautiful, with a nice quiet location in the museum area away from the chaos in central Amsterdam, and the service was good, the practical issues in the room was a disappointment. We were lucky to get a good deal from the hotel website and paid about US$780/night (no breakfast), and also thankful that the hotel upgraded us. If the practical issues in the room can be ironed out, I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragoneti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. We sincerely regret the streak of bad luck you had in regards to the issues in your room. I will certainly have the maintenance team look into and further address your concerns. Please be advised that your experience does not reflect the normal experience of our guests. We are happy that you have enjoyed all other facilities of the hotel and would be very grateful if you could give us another chance to fully meet your expectations.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Except the incident to my arrival that my reservation was not included in the database and resolved giving me a superior room. I could't have any complaints of this impressive hotel d designed for women.
fantastic views and architecture
spa with 18m swimming pool
l,occitane products bathroom perfect
organic food
van gogh museum 1minute
best shops near the hotel
9m tfrom the center with the tram that stops outside the hotel........

Room Tip: i was in the 5 floor with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaramun .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Your details in every area of the hotel are greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel, highlighting the beautiful architecture, the spa , food and surroundings of the hotel. Our apologies for the little glitch at check-in, I am happy that it did not affect your overall experience. It will be our pleasure to warmly welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I don't get to stay in fancy hotels very often but decided to book this as a treat. We arrived too early to check into our room but were told we had a very nice room and that we were in fact 'guests of the day'. I thought it was a joke (?) but when we were shown to our room we'd been upgraded to a junior suite. It was amazing, everything you could wish for. So quiet, the bed was amazing, the view was lovely and the bathroom perfect. We had some drinks in the lobby area and bar but didn't eat there. The tram stop outside takes you everywhere and the location is perfect. The staff were all really lovely. I used the pool for a good swim and was the only one there. Highly recommend - especially is you end up being 'guest of the day'!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite - room 803. Lovely, quiet, spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biddyk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your time as our special ‘guest of the day’, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Once home of the Amsterdam School of Music this hotel has been beautifully renovated preserving the original building while incorporating a very new modern design into the hotel. One of the best examples of combining fine architecture and modern design and technology into a living experience.

Locates within 5 minutes walk to all the great museums of Amsterdam, upscale shopping one block away and two very fine restaurant venues within the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank not2woryluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for your kind praise of how we have incorporated modern design into our historical building. We are delighted to know that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and hope we may welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed for three nights in June 2014 and it was wonderful - a calm oasis away from the hectic Amsterdam tourism. The fitness room was fantastic! The pool was big enough for swimming laps (though it is smaller than a standard lap pool). They had spin bikes with workouts that you can watch on a TV screen. For people who want a good workout, this fitness room is the best I've ever seen in a hotel. The bathrooms were big and luxurious with beautiful limestone - a rare find in Europe. And the drink I had at the hotel bar - a grapefruit, citron vodka and St. Germain drink - was one of the best drinks I've ever had. At the restaurant they gave me a bowl of warm water with mint and lemon to rinse my hands after eating. The service was stellar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel, highlighting the exquisite gym and spa facilities. Thank you also for your kind praise of the cocktail in Tunes bar. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The conservatorium exceeded my expectations! The hotel is super modern in a very classy way. Te room is big and sleek, great view, every perk amazing. The location was in a nice quiet street. Everyone was so helpful!
Used the pool at nights, very nice! Thank you for an excellent stay! Would definetly return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misscarolinewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to know that we have exceeded your expectations, and would like to return in the future. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing