We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top design - good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
oslo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top design - good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed two nights over Easter ad had a very good time. We stayed in a Royal duplex suite. Vey good design - only flaw was that the bathroom upstairs did not have a shower, just a tub so I had to walk down to the bathroom downstairs to shower.The hotel is in a historic building and the hallways are full of character - they have really made a very good fusion of old and new.
The Brasserie was nicely designed in the atrium together with the lobby and lounge. Breakfast was particulary good with a good selection and good flavours. The Brasserie menu for lunch and dinner was perhaps a bit too traditional and verging on boring, but everything was fresh and nicely prepared. They even god us sashimi and nigri from the Tunes bar menu - very nice.
Service throughout was good - nothing exceptional, but solid in a Dutch way. The doormen was particulary attentive and cheerful.
The first day our room was not made up the whole day - but this was probably just a lapse and did not ruin our stay.
The location is a bit out of the canal area, but it is easy to walk around Amsterdam and the three big museums (Rjiksmuseum, Van Gogh and the Seteljik) are all just across the street.
Do go - We will definately return!

Room Tip: The duplex Royal suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oslonorwayoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with this detailed review on our hotel. We are happy to know you have enjoyed your Easter weekend at the Conservatorium Hotel. It gives us great pleasure that you will be returning in the future and we would be happy to assist you in finding a room that fully meets your needs for your next stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    162
    45
    24
    11
See reviews for
165
439
56
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is my second visit to the Conservatorium and if anything it was better. A few niggles had been ironed out and customer service seemed to be pretty top notch. The spa and pool is still the best in any hotel and best of all it's almost always very quiet. We booked with mr and mrs smith and got breakfast included so enjoyed very leisurely and lovely breakfasts. My favourite thing except the spa is simply relaxing in the enormous but incredibly comfortable foyer which is just the nicest and coolest space in amsterdam. It's also a lot of fun to watch the other guests and imagine their millionaire lifestyles.

We had a duplex room this time which was fun but not sure it's worth the extra. It did though have a big window overlooking the front street.

This hotel is a great treat and everyone makes you feel just wonderful. I

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olgiati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate your continued support and hope we may welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife choose this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was a wonderful experience from the start with the excellent champagne we received just after we got to our room. Personnel are always smiling and ready to help. The place is very nice with many amenities and delicious food and excellent coffee, very important for my wife. The gym is full of light and offers an excellent experience for the people concious of their physical well being. the hotel is well located, within walking distance of the Cencertgebouw and some of the most typical Amsterdam quarters and also convenient to access by taxi or public transportation. All in all, an excellent experience that we look forward to renew as soon as our busy lifes allow us to.

Room Tip: inside rooms maybe better if you want to sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarUbaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to congratulate you on your wedding anniversary. We are honored that you chose our hotel to celebrate this special occasion, and very happy to know that you have had an enjoyable time. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again on a future occasion.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Conservatorium hotel was a once in a lifetime experience.
The building is located in the most attractive area if Amsterdam- full with art, fashion and prestige.
The hotel itself is beautiful and welcoming. The hosts are incredibly helpful and the facilities are endless.
Make yourself a favor and go there!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talstraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

We truly appreciate your kind comments about our property. Thank you very much for your praise of our hotel facilities and services. We are also happy to know that our location in the Museum district was to your liking. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is the best hotel I ever stayed in. The service is outstanding, the location very convenient, near all the museums, and the rooms are very comfortable. The hotel is modern with wonderful amenities and a fabulous breakfast. From the moment you check in, you will be pampered and greeted with friendly warm service. The staff does all it can to meet your needs and ensure you are satisfied.
I would recommend this to all my friends and return the next time I am in Amsterdam. The concierge was extremely helpful--arranging museum tickets, dinner reservations, and making great suggestions for how to spend the time in the city

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet, modern and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

From beginning to end it was an absolute delight to read through your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our services. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and are looking forward to welcome you back on a future stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

For the discerning hotel guest, this hotel hits all the right notes. We found the hotel to be centrally located for art, music, dining and for shopping while maintaining a quiet refuge from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. After being sleep deprived from being woken up in the middle of the night by drunken revelers and ambulance sirens while staying at another 5 star hotel, we fled to the Conservatorium for a peaceful night of rest. To top of the entire experience, the concierge service and the doormen were cordial and professional to perfection.
Many kudos to the hotel manager.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind praise of our hotel and staff. I am very happy to know that our location in the Museum district offered you the perfect place to relax and unwind. We hope to host you as our guest again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When arriving on Saturday morning (rooms available by the way) our daughter was smitten with a toothache.Within 15 minutes the caring Concierge Staff had located a dentist who has open for business and escorted our daughter to the dental office. For the remainder of our pain-free stay, the same Staff provided flawless execution of dinner reservations, suggested walking tours, Museum tickets and a private canal tour on a charming ca. 1900 private vessel. Following our trip a sweater inadvertently left behind miraculously re-appeared by express service at our home in the U.S. With excellent food and beverage services in a tastefully done post-modern restoratoration of an historic site, why stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing