We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and excellent hotel with just a minor flaw”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at The Conservatorium Hotel this weekend. It is truly a beautiful hotel, with superb design and in one of the best parts of town. The room we stayed in was situated on the 7th floor, very nicely designed. The staff is very welcoming, friendly and attentive. We would certainly stay another time and as an experienced traveller I would recommend it to fellow travellers who appreciate design, luxury and good service.

The Brasserie however is the only minor flaw: there seems to be enough staff around but still everything takes a lot of time. Not just at breakfast but also in the afternoon. One staffer was busy taking photographs of the buffet at breakfast, which seemed odd when service is slow to begin with. We assumed that our experience could be a one off, or a temporary problem. When flicking through other reviews I noticed however that the same experience has been noted since 2012. Something to seriously deal with, I would say. Roomservice on the other hand is very good with excellent staff. And since the rooms are beautiful, having breakfast in your room is a very good option.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Van Baerlestraat-side are light and an added bonus is the characteristic sound of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsdenjette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and for recommending us to other travelers. I apologize that your experience at our Brasserie did not live up to the other services of the Hotel. I can assure that we are continuously putting effort into the training of our staff in this area, to provide our guests with the right and professional service. Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future to experience the results of these efforts first-hand. We are looking forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very pleasant and helpful staff, beautifully designed rooms, great common areas, good if a tad pricey brasserie. All in all one of the best in a great location.

Thank Anniemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated for the RIjks Museum, Van Gogh and Staedlijk museums being just across the road from two of them. The building is impressive and the staff particularly helpful. The Akasha Spa was great, hardly anyone there so we had the 18m pool and the hammam to ourselves. Outside is the tram stop for the number 2 and 5 which takes you to most places. We took the museum package which included a Dutch afternoon tea, quite something and well worth sampling.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind praise of our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed so many of our facilities, from the location to the room and the afternoon tea in the Brasserie. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another lovely stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved the Conservatorium Hotel. My sister accompanied me on a business trip to Amsterdam. After an overnight flight, we were met at the door with some delicious glasses of juice. We were unable to check in at that time, but they took our luggage and upgraded our room because of the inconvenience. The room was gorgeous with modern amenities. Our favorite part was the hotel lobby. We often sat there after spending the day out or after dinner. They served wine, beer, tea and coffee. My favorite was a mint tea made with fresh mint leaves and served with honey and some cookies. YUM! The lobby seemed to be a stopping place for many visitors not staying at the hotel as well. The staff were friendly and courteous. The night manager even sent us some tea to extend his apologies for an "incident" (my fault) with our room. The rates were pricey, but well worth it. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomCPNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind compliments about our facilities and the services we are providing. We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Beautiful building that has been converted into a top hotel. Everything has been done to a high specification down to the smallest detail. The rooms are excellent with very modern features. The staff was wonderful and were there to help with any questions or issues that might arise. I found the location to be fantastic right in the heart of the museum district with easy access to public transport.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and found our location in the museum district to your liking. We thank you for your stay and hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another visit.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We were really surprised by this hotel. It's in a great location near all of the museums and 5 mins from the canals. Huge room with a great bed and wonderful sheets. An enormous bath. First rate service, friendly and professional. Clean and beautiful spa. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay, and thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our accommodation. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed end Jan - beginning feb 2014, for four days, in the Rooftop Suite. Beautiful room, stunning bathroom and shower. Staff very helpful and obviously proud to be working there: the best I have come across and I have travelled quite a bit: from seniors to waiters to doormen and luggage handler, all were excellent. Dinner in Tunes: food superb, service superb. Should have a Michelin star, but they probably won't want one, as it is nowadays considered a poisoned chalice! Had taster menu and the overall 'Dutch' flavour of the dishes is stunningly imaginative (I am Dutch and have never had similar, but the dishes just reminded of Holland and its meadows, grass, cows, milk and so on (at least, if one finds oneself outside the main conurbations).
Only snag: it proved impossible to get soft-boiled eggs for breakfast in the Brasserie: I even wondered if the chef disliked the waiter and wanted to embarrass him! It is telling that that represents the only critique I can think of and one can continue to live happily without soft-boiled eggs...My next stay in Amsterdam will definitely see me book this hotel again.
Hugo

Room Tip: Go for the Rooftop Suite: worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H4292XQHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Hugo,

From beginning to end it was an absolute delight to read through your review, leaving the egg incident aside, but at least that gives us something to improve on:). We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Your details in every area of the hotel are greatly appreciated, and we will happily share your compliments with our staff, the Tunes kitchen team in particular. We are delighted that you will be returning in the future and are looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,383 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
845 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $440 - $879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing