We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #17 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I visisted Akasha, the holistic gym and spa of the Conservatorium hotel, after a stressy day and it was amazing. After you've entered the spa, you have no idea you are in the middle of the busy city of Amsterdam and you completely forget all your worries. It has a luxery feeling and the staff is super friendly. They have a bubble bath, a sauna, a hammam and a swimming pool. If you want, you can get one of their treatments. Unfortunately I did not have time to treat myself to that, but I will defenitely do that next time.

In between relaxing in the pool or the sauna, you can have a nice cup of tea and eat the healthy snacks that they have put out for you to enjou.

Defenitely go when you have the time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noëlle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed the relaxation experience of our spa, and felt completely de-stressed during your visit. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
There are newer reviews for Conservatorium Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel, lovely spa and pool area but far too busy for its small size and not well attended to - used towels littered around the pool area, left in the hammam, on the floor in the sauna, in the changing rooms etc. No towels available to use in the changing rooms however - they were just not replaced by staff (it seems very few staff checking for basic cleanliness or towel replacement, but lots of staff walking around ignoring the stuff that needs attention). I've been here a few times and had the same experiences so it's not just a one off. The place is small so feels full and overcrowded very quickly, and then on top of that the fact that there's little attention paid to the basic chores that need to be done is a big disappointment. So much attention to detail in the design but so little attention for the basic clean up. Annoying if part of the reason you visit is to relax in comfort - I would avoid if that's your goal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jluxtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for alerting our attention to this issue. Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience in Akasha. This is definitely not the norm that our spa guests would normally experience, and I can assure you that we have addressed the issue immediately. Hopefully you will give us another chance to impress you with a truly relaxing experience in our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It was a special experience to stay at this hotel, in the center of Amesterdan, a outstanding building with a exquisite design.
A trendy and very elegant atmosfere. The staff plays a very important role in this real scenario. The staff is special, makes everything to make the guest to feel real special and to fell at home.
Tunes restaurant is a high end experience, the food, the staff , the restaurant design, the guests, everything was so perfect, that makes a dinner a unique experience.
Breakfast at The Brasserie in that fantastic room with a fantastic food and staff. Can't miss.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jose n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We are absolutely delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind praise of our exquisite design and attentive service, and also for highlighting the incredible culinary experience in Tunes Restaurant. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Conservatorium hotel in Amsterdam is an amazing hotel. The room and the service was outstanding and the people were very friendly. Furthermore the wellness centre offered a nice relaxation. We loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgg1985447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear guest,

How wonderful to read such a nice review of your experience in our hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will find the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is absolutely the place to stay in Amsterdam! I have stayed at this hotel multiple times now and the service really is exquisite. From the moment they take your car when arriving till when you check out, you notice the great service. While checking in at the front desk you are offered a nice cold beverage. The rooms at this hotel are very nicely designed and extremely comfortable. But most importantly the Front Desk (especially Suzanne Van Aalten!) always takes great care of me by giving me a great room and always being extremely helpful!


The hotel has great amenities and they make sure that everything is well maintained and clean! A beautiful gym with the latest equipment, a pool and a nice sauna are just a few of the examples. It has one of the best restaurants in town, which has a nice ambiance. The tunes bar is great for a nice cocktail and also has really good snacks. The hotel is perfectly located in the center of Amsterdam, with the Famous shopping street around the corner.

Again the one thing that really makes this hotel stand out is its impeccable service. At all times during your stay you notice the great quality of the staff. Thanks again to the people of the front desk for the great service and I can’t wait to be back ☺.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your continued support of the Conservatorium Hotel, and for taking the time to write your wonderful review. It gives us all great pleasure to welcome you back to us time and again, and we are delighted to know that you think so highly of our hotel and service. I will certainly convey your kind compliments to Suzanne and her colleagues, and I am sure they will be very pleased to know they made such a great impression. I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Amsterdam was really special - The hotel really made the trip so special! Had an amazing time in this hotel, HIGHLY recommend. Very pleasant and friendly staff, great service - definitely a place I will go back too!!! There Spa WOW - there is no other word!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear guest,

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel. Your warm recommendation is also highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Conservatorium Hotel for 10 day in October so I got to know the hotel quite good. The architecture and the design are very beautiful. The merge of the old building and the new part was done very well. The style of the hotel rooms is great. The room service is very polite, relatively quick and the food is good. (Loved the burger but also the seaweed chips) The Tunes restaurant is designed very nice food is great. Some staff need a bit of training. The brasserie were breakfast is served and you can also have lunch or dinner is ... difficult. Of course it is not cheap ( nothing really is in Amsterdam), the food is good though but the service is really not adequate. To be exact the breakfast service is very bad - dinner is ok. At breakfast it was a real challenge for the staff to bring me my hot beverage right or at all or before my eggs. So in general... the hotel is a great place but I really think they lack in an adequate service staff in regards of what you pay!!! The door men were great!

Room Tip: Avoid to get a room over the bar because it is in deed quite loud Thursday - Sunday! Also the window...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLoveTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We are glad to receive your kind compliments about the interior, and the great culinary experience in Tunes Restaurant. I sincerely regret that the experience at breakfast did not live up to the other services of the Hotel. To ensure that our guest experience remains at the level we expect, we will undertake additional training exercises in order to improve our service delivery in this important area. Hopefully you will visit us again to personally experience the enhancements.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,327 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $436 - $938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing