We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Conservatorium Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$282
$241
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$295
$265
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$296
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$302
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$563
$333
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$301
$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$249
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $292/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,443)
Filter reviews
1,443 results
Traveler rating
1,118
219
56
34
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,118
219
56
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduplex roomtunes barmusic conservatorypiero lissonimusic schoolakasha spavan gogh museumbeautiful hotelmuseum districthigh end shoppingluxury hotelmajor museumsconcierge deskgreat designfavorite hotelrain showersitting area
Filter
Updating list...
766 - 771 of 1,443 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location near the museums and shops, very friendly staff in a beautiful designed hotel where old is mixed with modern design. We had a duplex room which is very comfortable and, because of the two floors, also very spacious. Breakfast is partly buffet, the hot dishes can be ordered a la carte; the pancakes were very nice but the eggs benedict with truffle were superb! We also had diner in the brasserie which was very tasteful. Try to make time to visit the spa; a beautiful, relaxing experience.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and thank you for highlighting the delicious breakfast dishes. We are glad that you have spent such a lovely time at the Conservatorium Hotel and hope we may host you as our guest again in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I spent two nights at the Conservatorium as part of a BMW launch event for its new i3 electric vehicle. I was greeted warmly by multiple members of the hotel staff and then escorted to my room by someone from the front desk. The hotel, rooms and Michelin-rated Tunes resto are elegant and the hotel is well located, just across the street from the Van Gogh Museum and within easy walking distance of two other museums. I decided to take public transport to the airport and you can easily catch express bus 197 just a block from the hotel. Though pricey, the hotel is highly recommended. Just one word to the room designer: the mirrored door to the toilet is quite heavy and takes some effort to both open and close. It should be cantilevered. Just a nit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mifanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that our location in the museum district was to your liking. Thank you also for your warm recommendation. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed one week at the Conservatorium,
Good Location next to the Musemplein and 3 Minutes by walk from the City Center.
The room was wide with nice view to the Musemplein, very large bath.
Room equipped with Espresso Machine, IPTV (Very good sound), a work desk, Large closet, Fresh fruits.
I spent 2 nights at the Tunes Bar, Pleasant atmosphere, delicious cocktails at good prices.
The Brasserie is great, I had dinner and the steak was delicious.
The hotel itself is amazing, a mix between old and new, large and luxurious pool.
The hotel offer a bikes for rent, good way to travel in Amsterdam
Very polite and nice staff.
Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed and favourable feedback. We are happy to know that our location in the museum district was to your liking, and that you have enjoyed our Tunes Bar and the culinary experience in the Brasserie. Thank you also for your warm recommendation, we would be very pleased to welcome you back on a future stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I spent five tremendous days at the Conservatorium Hotel during late April, 2013. The purpose of our visit was to gather and celebrate with family from London.

The conservatorium is a masterpiece of architectural refurbishment by the Piero Lissoni team. Tremendous architecture and functionality don't always work - it does in this case. The public areas are warm, inviting and contribute to a tremendous vibe.

Without exception the hotel staff were fantastic. The concierge team did a brilliant job for us. Tessa, in particular, made a real difference to our Conservatorium, and Amsterdam, experience. She is delightful, efficient and knowledgeable.
We will absolutely return to the Conservarorium Hotel.

Room Tip: There are a wide selection of room types and configurations. We chose to overlook the pleasing architecture of, and activity within, the huge glass enclosed interior courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for composing such a beautiful review, even after all these months. I am very pleased to know that you and your family have enjoyed your time at our hotel. I am thrilled to know that you would like to return, and it would be my pleasure to welcome you both back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed four nights at the Conservatorium, located near Museumplein, and next to the high end shopping street Hooftstraat.
The building is lovely from the outside and stunning from the inside, a very clever and respectful restoration. The main lobby is impressive in all its 4-story-high-glass-dome glory, but still manages to be cosy and inviting, furnished with stylish nordic design classics and oriental rugs. A great vibe all the time, the hotel is a trendy, happening spot. Very good service throughout, very polite and helpful staff, somewhat slow during meals. The buffet breakfast is large, varied and delicious.
I got a rather small but cleverly designed room. Storage was definitely a problem, but everything else was correctly laid out, very functional and stylish.
The indoor pool was large and very relaxing in it's apparent simplicity.
All in all a very rewarding experience, that hits all the marks: beauty, location, comfort, service and ambience. The price tag is quite hefty, as 400 euros will get you the smallest room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your very kind review. It is a great pleasure to read your enthusiasm about the design of the building. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and hope we may welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews