We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Property!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Property!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed in the Van Baerle Suite and it was perfection!! Large and spacious had four TV's stone tub, rain shower, Nespresso and more...........Staff friendly and meals and spa are fantastic too..........felt like we were in our own home and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrylR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to receive your favorable feedback. Thank you for your lovely praise of our hotel and staff. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to your home away from home.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    170
    45
    25
    11
See reviews for
186
481
60
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my brother who is not used to travel and requires some TLC. The hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague who said it was cool and I was attracted to it because it had a good pool. So I was delighted when I found this all to be true and that the staff showed so much care and attention to my brother. The restaurant in the lobby was excellent and not unreasonable. The facilities were all well maintained and efficiently run. The hotel had a relaxed air about it which made you feel comfortable despite the overall "cool" style. This was very important as our visit coincided with some very heavy rain and we were trapped for an extended late afternoon in the hotel, but enjoyed it nonetheless. The location is excellent, close to the Reichsmusueum and the Concertgebouw, within walking distance of the centre but also close to less common areas where you can get away from tourists. A genuine success.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to compose this wonderful review. We are very happy to know that we have been able to deliver you and your brother a memorable stay in Amsterdam. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is really a beautiful hotel and a great location.. BUT i stayed in both a double room on the 7th floor and a rooftop suite on the 8th and both rooms had same problem, you can hear when people are walking and talking in the hallways ( so that you almost think they are in your room ) and obviously you can also hear staff with their trolleys.. It seems crazy in a hotel with that much potential and considering its very new that they never thought of soundpoofing the rooms.. I still give it 4/5 purely due to staff, location and the awesome design of the hotel..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. I am concerned to read about the inconvenience you have experienced with regards to the noise, and I can assure you we will look further into this matter to see how we can improve the soundproofing. I am happy to know that you have enjoyed all other aspects of the hotel and hope you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate the true five star experience you deserve on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had an excellent four night stay in this very fine hotel. Great location, great facilities, great service.I rate this as one of the best hotels I have stayed in worldwide. Certainly in Amsterdam I would not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

It was an absolute delight to read your review. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Conservatorium was recommended by 2 friends who travel to Amsterdam frequently and have impeccable taste. We were on the last leg of a 3 city trip to Europe and had stayed in great hotels in Paris and London, so our expectations were high when we arrived.
Many reviews have covered the service,technology and location all of which I found to be of the highest quality. But what really impressed me was the building itself.
The challenge of converting a hundred year old conservatory into a modern hotel is daunting The developers did it by building a sleek new building inside a grand old edifice. Little hints, like mosaic floors and old stone steps lead you through a fantastic piece of modern architecture with grand common areas and intimate spaces. The materials and finishes are all top grade and the culmination made for a very special experience. Thank you Conservatorium.

Room Tip: We were first shown a duplex room that had a small dark lower space and a nice bedroom loft, but onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Conservatorium Hotel and for taking the time the compose this wonderful review. We highly appreciate your kind praise of the way our historical building has been restored, combining original features with state-of-the-art design and technologies. Please also extend a heartfelt thanks to your friends for recommending our hotel. We hope to host you as our guest again soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
199 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned from a three night break in Amsterdam, and stayed at the Conservatorium Hotel. We'd seen reviews and photos but this is my own opinion of my overall experience:
On arrival we were greeted by very efficient check-in staff on reception. Part of our "deal" was a free welcome drink, which turned out to be either apple juice or water! Not much of a welcome to a five star hotel, if you ask me!!?
We were shown to our room by a young guy, who was keen to explain the history of the building and to be fair, it was one of the most impressive hotel buildings I've stayed in, mixing modern with traditional architecture.
We had been put in a deluxe room, which had a coffee machine, mini bar, electric night and day curtains, lots of lights that could switch on and off when they sensed movement and two huge wardrobes that lit when the doors opened one of which contained a safe. We had a fruit bowl, which unlike other places we've stayed in, got replenished every day. We also got water every day too. The guy who introduced us to the room's facilities said he'd get a kettle sent up, but that never materialised, so we asked for one on day two which arrived within a few minutes.
My one criticism of the room, is that it had no mirror near a plug socket that I could plug a hair dryer in to. There was a socket in the bathroom, but it didn't work and nor did the tv in the bathroom, (in the case of the tv no big deal though)
For this reason, I only showered in the swimming pool area's changing rooms, so that I could dry my hair there, which isn't exactly convenient, and even there, the lighting was so dim, you had to train the illuminated magnifying mirror onto your head, so you could see what you were doing!
To the sports facilities: these were excellent, sauna, steam room, small warm water pool for exercises and relaxation, nice jacuzzi, and fantastic swimming pool, which I often didn't have to share! My Husband used the gym, which he found to be excellent.
So far so good!!
Our experience of the breakfast room wasn't quite as good, and on the second morning, we walked out, because we got tired of waiting to be served. You had to order coffee, there was no English Breakfast tea, so I provided my own teabags, which didn't matter, but the coffee scene seemed to dominate, much like in the room.
The food on the cold buffet was general breakfast fayre - pastries, breads/rolls, cereals, yoghurts, cold meats/cheeses/fish/fruit/tomatoes and the like. You could order eggs cooked several ways, and you had to order toast also, which is often where the delays occurred. We couldn't seem to get on with cold food and then order, the waiter seemed keen to get us to order the hot food almost immediately which we didn't want to do before we'd had some cereals or fruit.
There was no shortage of staff in the dining room, it was just a badly organised set up. It let the hotel down somewhat and for anyone not on a b&b deal, for the cold and hot food, it would cost fifty euros, which is very over the top by any standards!!
The hotel is situated near the main museums and not far from the boat trips and airport. The number 197 bus from Schipol stops about a three minute walk from the hotel.
There are enough restaurants nearby too, and the Bols experience is a short distance and is good fun.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again, if we were ever in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Avoid overlooking the main road at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your detailed and constructive feedback. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and also appreciate the niggles you have pointed out. We will surely use your comments to keep improving our service delivery. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in order to prove that these points have been amended, and for what will hopefully be a true 5-star experience and another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Upscale, chic and beautiful. A unique building (from the outside you would not tell it is a hotel) in the hart of the city. Conservatorium provides a wonderful staying and dining experience with what must be the best service in the city of Amsterdam. Excellent restaurants and just a perfect place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Duplex rooms are really cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CH-traveller-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending us so highly. We are very pleased to receive your favorable feedback and truly hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing