We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing hotel!! We'll definitely come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #15 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is unique and beautiful. The decor is absolutely stunning. The lobby area is amazing. The rooms are so beautiful and chick. Modern and high-tech. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. The rooms are equipped with every kit you could think of. In the bathroom you will find L'occitane products, which are so nice. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The staff is very kind and helpful from the bellboy to the host manager. All in all the hotel is amazing, so beautiful and chick, great atmosphere, and the best service. The gym is also beautiful and well equipped, and I really loved the yoga studio. The breakfast at the hotel was very good, rich buffer with lots of fruit, vegetables, organic fruit juices, great coffee (they even had soy milk for coffee), and the best carrot cake. The hotel is located across the street from the Van Goh museum, and a minute walk from the PC hoofstraat, where all the brand shops are. We were here, my husband and I, with a couple of friends for 3 nights during the weekend, and we loved it. It was the third time for all of us in Amsterdam and we all agreed It was the best hotel we stayed in. This is definitely the hotel to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeffenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your wonderful praise of our hotel. I am sure our whole team will be thrilled to know they made such a wonderful impression. Thank you also for highlighting our breakfast buffet and our gym facilities. It means a great deal to us all to know that you recommend us so highly. We would be very pleased to welcome you and your friends back to our hotel on your fourth stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best hotel in beautiful Amsterdam - The Conservatorium.
Everything was perfect.
The room was exceptionally appointed and the service was ideal.
From check in to check out we had a wonderful experience.
The host team, particularly Isabelle and Etan,provided many great suggestions for dining, walking tours, transportation, and most importantly, museums.
They know the city perfectly and helped us navigate each day optimally.
The hotel breakfast is the best we've ever had.
Not to be missed, the lobby bar is vibrant and engaging.
The architecture of the Conservatorium is world class and deserves recognition amongst the finest hotels in the world today.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Thank you for your very kind comments about our accommodation, leisure facilities, and services. We are very glad to hear that Etan and Isabelle were able to facilitate you with all of Amsterdam’s highlights.

It is always a delight to know that we have exceeded our guests’ expectations, and we are especially honoured to hear that we served you the best hotel breakfast you have ever had. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel is the newest addition to 5 stars Amsterdam hotels. It was open one and a half years ago and surely became already the leading luxury hotel in Amsterdam. Its design is unique: it is better to see it once than to describe it. Both architects and designers did a brilliant job with old Conservatorium building transforming it into an amazing ultramodern hotel. We had a royal duplex suite. The Royal Duplex Suites occupy 67 m2 on two levels. On the lower level, there is a separate seating and living area with a large dining table.The main bathroom has a large rainfall shower and toilet. The second bathroom on the mezzanine level has a deep soaking bathtub and toilet as well as deluxe amenities and bathroom LCD mirror TV. Wi-fi is free.
Many hotel reviewers complain about difficulties to operate rooms' lights and curtains but we found it very easy and effective.
Hotel has a spa and two restaurants. The Tunes restaurant offers Michelin star experience in a unique environment. It is on of the most fashionable Amsterdam restaurants.
Brasserie serves buffet for lunch and dinner as well as a la carte menu. It also serves after-noon tea.
Service was impeccable.
The location of hotel is very good for both business and tourism. Hotel is just opposite Van Gogh and Stedelejk museums, 5 minutes walk to Rijksmuseum. The design shopping street is also 3 minutes walk from hotel. There are a lot of nice restaurants and terrases close to hotel.
As we stayed previously in many Amsterdam 5 stars hotels - Pulitzer, Hilton Apollolaan, hotel de l'Europe and others, we can compare and we still believe that Conservatorium hotel is the best of all of them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review. From beginning to end, it was an absolute delight to read through your review, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so thoroughly. We are also very glad to hear that you were pleased with our location in the museum district. We are especially thrilled to know that we are now your number one hotel in Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for your wonderful praise of our hotel, in particular our accommodation and our service, and the kind comments regarding our cuisine. We very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Conservatorium Hotel.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

thoroughly loved our 3 night stay - the exterior is stately and historic but one step inside the courtyard entry and you know you are in for a modern, boutique experience where every detail is thought of. from the porters to the incredibly warm and professional front desk staff, we knew would be well cared for. if you can swing the deluxe room over the superior you won't be disappointed - although both rooms offered all the bells and whistles - the deluxe room was much larger with a large bathroom - soaker tub, glassed in rain head shower, separate loo & floor to ceiling marble. Beds were incredibly comfortable and even with a street view - the room was wonderfully quiet. we had the opportunity to enjoy both of their restaurants - Tunes' 4 course tasting menu with paired wines was world class. the room's high ceilings and warm décor was equal to the quality of the staff inside the kitchen and out. we also had a late afternoon snack in the lobby restaurant which was also wonderful, unfortunately we were just a bit too early for the Dutch Buffet which didn't open until just after our late lunch. I would most definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again when I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to receive this review following your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are very happy to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for highlighting the great culinary experience you have had at our restaurant Tunes. We will certainly convey your compliments to the kitchen team. Your warm recommendation is highly appreciated and we are really looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Last week we were invited to a dinner in a private room at the Conservatorium Hotel by one of our suppliers. We were impressed with the ambiance, the fast and friendly service and the quality of the food. We will certainly come back for more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your sharing this great feedback. We certainly hope we may welcome you back soon to experience all other facilities the hotel has to offer.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A very nice hotel. We had an extremely high-tech room with a very comfortable bed. Our room had a 2nd story loft for sleeping, and was quite small, generally. The bathroom was TINY and had no racks or hooks for bath towels. There was no place to put wet towels except on the floor. Our shower door leaked at the bottom so our wet towels were used to soak up the mess. Didn't seem to be many vacationers here. More of a business climate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillDiane2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear about the good points of your stay and also appreciate the areas you highlight where we can refocus on our guest’s experience. We will surely use your comments to make improvements in these areas. We hope you have a chance to see us again to enjoy the enhancements.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Combining critical scale with intimate cosiness, this hotel will be my first choice in this city by far. My host upon arrival, Ms Mileta, was perfect. The gym sets a new standard for hotels. And the footmen, door attendants etc are flawless. But ... The lights in the rooms are too convoluted for their own good, and do not function as intended. The hotel staff are mixed: some amazing, others downright surly. And the expensive breakfast is not incuded in the room rate, giving guests an incentive to leave in the morning in search of better value elsewhere. So room for improvement, but a joy to experience nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the reception atrium and observe the action form your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudeauista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear guest,

It is a great honor to read that we are by far your first choice hotel in Amsterdam. We are sorry though that we have not been able to fully satisfy your needs for a perfect hotel experience. Your comments are very helpful for us to learn and grow in all aspects. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,381 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#29 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $438 - $883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing