We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #15 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This 5 star hotel is superb.

Traditional 5 star hotels are usually full of chintz, with a stiff atmosphere. Boutique style hotels tend to be too dark, too noisy and full of fashionistas, which I hate. However the Conservatorium is a comfortable & contemporary hotel with the right mix of modernity, style and comfort.

All the staff were helpful, particularly David and Isobel at reception.

I had a lovely quiet room on the 7th floor, having specifically requested that I did not want a duplex room. The steam room & cold shower in the spa were great, and treated myself to a shiatsu massage and a watsu.

Breakfast on two occasions was delicious, lunch in the brasserie was very good & had a well balanced menu.

The hotel is in a good location for museums, whilst the adjacent fashion shopping streets may be great for some, but not for me. These 'conspicuous consumption' brands do nothing for me.

It is worth visiting Amsterdam, just to enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Condor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review on our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had such a fantastic time during your stay, and that our location in the Museum district was to your liking. We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    191
    49
    33
    13
See reviews for
210
535
66
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

So if you a a boutique hotel lover, and I am a self-admitted junkie, you will love this place.

STAFF
First the staff, since I tend to try to stay in smaller more intimate hotels, I am used to amazing staff. The staff here was hands down the most attentive and helpful staff ever. They really made our trip. Everything we wanted to do, they would arrange for us, get us exact directions, they'd ask us how it was when we came back in, just a very very helpful bunch. They left you with that feeling that you were at someone's house and that they wanted to take care of you.

THE HOTEL
The hotel is in a historic building, the architecture was amazing in the lobby and throughout even the halls. I found myself taking pictures of even the smallest details as they spared none. Even if you are not staying here, it's very close to some of the major tourist attractions so swing by.

THE BAR / RESTAURANTS
the bar (tunes) was nothing short of great too, the staff there continued to load me up with new gin drinks to try, they have me a full education on gin, I learned a lot and they seemed to be generous with "free tastings" for me to try different things. Try the drink with the crushed peppercorns if you like that sort of thing.

The restaurant in the lobby was great for brunch (expensive of course) but it was really good and hard to get a seat at on the weekend. I did not get a chance to try the highly reviewed restaurant on site.

TRANSPORTATION
There is a train line right outside of the hotel, right across the street. Which shouldn't be too noisy. The staff will basically walk you to it, even though it's right outside. I found that getting to the bar scene was easy from here, canal tours, etc, all easy. Your location is perfect here.

ROOMS
they were a little on the small side, and so super slick and modern in seem ways that it was even a little much for me ;) but spending time in my hotel room is not why I travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate the fine comments you make about our staff and the service they provide, and we will certainly share this with the whole team. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We got this hotel at a very good night for the 3 nights we were their - the service is what you would expect at the balmoral hotel in edinburgh - everything was perfect and the staff are clearly well train to a very high standard nothing was ever a problem ..... one member of staff overheard me complaining to my partner that i wish there was brown sauce and they literally offered to buy some at a shop across the road .. gobsmacked

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had such a fantastic time during your stay! We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A very nice hotel, but still needs to do a couple of things to make it truly remarkable.

Positive points:
Very nice and helpful staff
Beautiful location
Nice rooms
Great bathroom (very roomy, separate rain shower) although the sink is a little unpractical and the room got very warm.
Bar was nice, but did not live up to the hype
Loved the fact that they had a Saturday morning running group (although quite late, I would have wanted it earlier).

Negative points:
No hotel bikes were available for rent and rather than arranging for other bikes we were pointed in the direction of a hire shop which meant that we had to factor in time and effort to return the bikes.
Apparently a strict policy of not allowing people to park their bikes in the hotel driveway. Annoying, especially when you wanted to rent a hotel bike (which surely I would have been allowed to park in the driveway)
I would have liked to have been able to open a window in my room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed though to hear about the challenges you have faced regarding the bike rental. I can assure you that this is not the kind of service we aim to provide. We have addressed the issue with our host department, to ensure that we will provide you with the right and professional service in the future.

May you visit the hotel again, please inform us about your room preferences and we would be more than happy to assist you in finding the perfect room type. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Looks stunning and in a fabulous location. Rooms are very noisy - I was moved several times......first from 1 floor above a tram junction and then 1 floor above the atrium. The noise is spectacular. Electrics in the room were complicated and often didn't work ...... To turn all lights off you have to go down stairs, not use a switch by the bed! Service at reception, the lobby bistro and lobby bar area was very poor ...... No-one seemed to care very much. The spa was comical. Screaming kids for most of the day, 6 loungers and a few arm chairs and the steam room was out of order. Again looked great......! Overall good place to go for a drink but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us notice of your experience during your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality and service you deserve, but we appreciate your honesty. Your comments regarding areas for improvement will help us to continually enhance the guest experience.

We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy the relaxation experience of our Akasha Spa. Because we also like to give our junior visitors the possibility to visit Akasha, we have set a special daily opening hour for children, which you can find in our guest directory. We are very sorry that you were not informed about this. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope you will come back for an improved experience.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

There is no doubt that this is the best quality, new property in town with exclusive fittings in the rooms. Most of the staff were very friendly as well. However, we were there just 12 hours on an exhausting business trip, and only got one hour of sleep!! Do not get put into a lof room! The bed sits just outside the bathroom door on the upper level and the bright light under the the large bathroom vanity does not turn off - period. The doors are all glass and while they are boldly tinted, the light does come through. Making matters worse, there is a window in that bathroom so the light shines out to the downstairs part of the loft as well so you have even more light upstairs. When we complained at 11:30 when going to bed the operator told us that there was a sensor and it would shut the light off, or she offered to have an engineer come look at it - too tired and too late for that, we declined. At check out, the front desk staff was sincerely sorry and requested the manager. Based on her response, she was obviously well trained to dodge the problem and acted surprised and puzzled. I suggest that she stay in that room for the night. Finally, we were told that the light stays on all the time for safety reasons - don't they know about motion sensors. As condolence, they offered me 10% off a 705 euro room. This added insult to injury, I could care less about 10%. what would have been correct was to give you a voucher to try the hotel again with a free night. I sleep one hour out of my 6 hour sleep time, that is not 10%!

To summarize, the property is beautiful. Do not stay in the loft!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in a loft room!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We are very sorry to hear about the problems you have encountered during your stay. Our bathroom lighting is indeed connected to a sensor and should switch of automatically after three minutes. We regret that this was not the case during your past, but for any future visits please be advised that we have resolved this issue immediately after your departure.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and we truly hope you will give our hotel another chance to fully meet your expectations.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a beautifull building. The weather was extremely bad so we staid in the hotel for 24 hours enjoying the spa, the delicious restaurant Tunes. The room, a suite with 2 great bathrooms, everything was well thought of. A good mix of the old building with very modern rooms. Our room overlooked the lobby which was fun. It is quiet expansive but absolutely worthwhile. Breakfast in the brasserie was very good. I would just have liked the price of the breakfast to be included in the room price. It just does not feel right to pay 540 euro a night not including breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirjamreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Property: Conservatorium Hotel
Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing