We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Conservatorium Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$329
$293
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$506
$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$444
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$240
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$260
$244
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$88
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$489
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$276
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Van Gogh(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$143
$85
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveler rating
1,111
218
55
33
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
218
55
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduplex roomtunes barmusic conservatorypiero lissonimusic schoolakasha spavan gogh museumbeautiful hotelhigh end shoppingmuseum districtluxury hotelmajor museumsconcierge servicegreat designfavorite hotelrain showernespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
886 - 891 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A very nice hotel, but still needs to do a couple of things to make it truly remarkable.

Positive points:
Very nice and helpful staff
Beautiful location
Nice rooms
Great bathroom (very roomy, separate rain shower) although the sink is a little unpractical and the room got very warm.
Bar was nice, but did not live up to the hype
Loved the fact that they had a Saturday morning running group (although quite late, I would have wanted it earlier).

Negative points:
No hotel bikes were available for rent and rather than arranging for other bikes we were pointed in the direction of a hire shop which meant that we had to factor in time and effort to return the bikes.
Apparently a strict policy of not allowing people to park their bikes in the hotel driveway. Annoying, especially when you wanted to rent a hotel bike (which surely I would have been allowed to park in the driveway)
I would have liked to have been able to open a window in my room

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed though to hear about the challenges you have faced regarding the bike rental. I can assure you that this is not the kind of service we aim to provide. We have addressed the issue with our host department, to ensure that we will provide you with the right and professional service in the future.

May you visit the hotel again, please inform us about your room preferences and we would be more than happy to assist you in finding the perfect room type. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Looks stunning and in a fabulous location. Rooms are very noisy - I was moved several times......first from 1 floor above a tram junction and then 1 floor above the atrium. The noise is spectacular. Electrics in the room were complicated and often didn't work ...... To turn all lights off you have to go down stairs, not use a switch by the bed! Service at reception, the lobby bistro and lobby bar area was very poor ...... No-one seemed to care very much. The spa was comical. Screaming kids for most of the day, 6 loungers and a few arm chairs and the steam room was out of order. Again looked great......! Overall good place to go for a drink but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us notice of your experience during your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality and service you deserve, but we appreciate your honesty. Your comments regarding areas for improvement will help us to continually enhance the guest experience.

We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy the relaxation experience of our Akasha Spa. Because we also like to give our junior visitors the possibility to visit Akasha, we have set a special daily opening hour for children, which you can find in our guest directory. We are very sorry that you were not informed about this. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope you will come back for an improved experience.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

There is no doubt that this is the best quality, new property in town with exclusive fittings in the rooms. Most of the staff were very friendly as well. However, we were there just 12 hours on an exhausting business trip, and only got one hour of sleep!! Do not get put into a lof room! The bed sits just outside the bathroom door on the upper level and the bright light under the the large bathroom vanity does not turn off - period. The doors are all glass and while they are boldly tinted, the light does come through. Making matters worse, there is a window in that bathroom so the light shines out to the downstairs part of the loft as well so you have even more light upstairs. When we complained at 11:30 when going to bed the operator told us that there was a sensor and it would shut the light off, or she offered to have an engineer come look at it - too tired and too late for that, we declined. At check out, the front desk staff was sincerely sorry and requested the manager. Based on her response, she was obviously well trained to dodge the problem and acted surprised and puzzled. I suggest that she stay in that room for the night. Finally, we were told that the light stays on all the time for safety reasons - don't they know about motion sensors. As condolence, they offered me 10% off a 705 euro room. This added insult to injury, I could care less about 10%. what would have been correct was to give you a voucher to try the hotel again with a free night. I sleep one hour out of my 6 hour sleep time, that is not 10%!

To summarize, the property is beautiful. Do not stay in the loft!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in a loft room!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We are very sorry to hear about the problems you have encountered during your stay. Our bathroom lighting is indeed connected to a sensor and should switch of automatically after three minutes. We regret that this was not the case during your past, but for any future visits please be advised that we have resolved this issue immediately after your departure.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and we truly hope you will give our hotel another chance to fully meet your expectations.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a beautifull building. The weather was extremely bad so we staid in the hotel for 24 hours enjoying the spa, the delicious restaurant Tunes. The room, a suite with 2 great bathrooms, everything was well thought of. A good mix of the old building with very modern rooms. Our room overlooked the lobby which was fun. It is quiet expansive but absolutely worthwhile. Breakfast in the brasserie was very good. I would just have liked the price of the breakfast to be included in the room price. It just does not feel right to pay 540 euro a night not including breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirjamreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

this is one the nicest hotels in europe in the middel of the cultural center of amsterdam.the mixture of the old bank building and the modren desine have acheived wonderful results a very warm cosy hotel which give you a feeling of a warm wellcome.the rooms are very nice teh brasserie and the tunes restaurant are great experience. wortha visit

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yosef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate your fine comments regarding your recent stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed so many aspects of our property and would love to welcome you again back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews