We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Conservatorium Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$309
$292
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$374
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$505
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$374
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$241
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$219
$186
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$245
$211
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$277
$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$383
$351
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveler rating
1,111
218
55
33
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
218
55
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduplex roomtunes barmusic conservatorypiero lissonimusic schoolakasha spavan gogh museumbeautiful hotelhigh end shoppingmuseum districtluxury hotelmajor museumsconcierge servicegreat designfavorite hotelrain showernespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel is a fantastic and we enjoyed our time. Very much an upscale hotel and in a prime location. Super close to many cultural sites with also easy access to public transport around Amsterdam. Expect to pay more for the services and products at this hotel as it is much more posh than most anything in the city. Enjoy the time in the rooms as they are well designed and have tons of character.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cutty1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found our location in the museum district to your liking. We hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Awesome hotel! Friendly staff, fabulous duplex room with the nicest fittings you've ever seen. Its a conversion of an old bank building in the museum district. Breakfast was terrific, the waiters are 2m tall!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewartRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having survived two nights at the Conservatorium Hotel in Amsterdam in early November, we feel obliged to provide a fair and honest review for the benefit of our fellow man.

On arrival we were provided with the Presidential Suite (usually costing several thousand Euros per night) instead of the €600.00 per night suite booked – so far, so good. However, receiving this upgrade was the last positive experience the establishment had to offer, and later, only fuelled one’s curiosity about how uninhabitable the other suites must have been.

To be blunt; the accommodation was as sophisticated as a prehistoric cave. Whilst lavished with all the usual refinements one can expect from a luxury city hotel; none of them worked. Turning on the television fused the lights throughout the suite, and switching on the room’s lights fused the electricity for the entire corridor. As for the heating; what heating? For the duration of the stay the heating refused to function, making the suite more akin to a Russian Gulag than a luxury hotel room. We should say that we do not like indoor heating to be excessively high – this being unhealthy, but a temperature in the double digits would have been a welcome improvement.

Despite raising these issues with hotel staff who visited our suite not less than eight times over the course of our two night stay, the issues were not resolved.

On checking out, we were offered a paltry 25% discount on the rate of the room, a grossly disproportionate gesture when considering the accommodation was unfit for habitation. Rather than accepting this meagre token, we were assured that the General Manager would write to us expressing his apologies and providing more appropriate compensation for our patience and understanding. After more than a month, however, no such correspondence has been received or is expected. We can only imagine that the Manager’s energies have been diverted to a compulsory customer service course, or failing that, the rigors of an electrical training programme (perhaps the latter would be more useful).

In summary, whilst at first glance the hotel appears to have all the characteristics of a luxury European city hotel, we cannot help but think that the only accolade it will receive is being Amsterdam’s answer to Fawlty Towers - it certainly isn’t a satisfactory (or even tolerable) environment in which to rest one’s head.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Mr X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We deeply regret the streak of bad luck you had during your visit. I can assure you that this is not the kind of service we strive for to provide. Although this does not help you for your past visit, I would like to inform you that we have now resolved all issues in the room.

I am also sorry to hear that my apology letter did not reach you. As discussed on the telephone earlier this week I have send it to you again.

Once again my apologies for this inconvenience. We hope you will give our hotel another chance, and I can assure you that you will not experience the same problem again.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Europe. Part of our trip brought us to Amsterdam for the first time. We chose to stay at the Conservatorium based on articles we had read. We're very happy we did.

The first thing that needs to be mentioned is the sheer beauty of the hotel. It's majestic size and turn-of-the-century facade both alert you to the fact that this hotel is something special. Upon arrival, you'll note that the main greeting and seating area, as well as the restaurant, are all enclosed in an atrium of glass and steel, so you see the old exterior of the building as an internal wall. I believe they told us the atrium is where the parking lot previously was. This glass enclosure stretches skyward for what I believe was four or five floors. Visually it was very impressive. What a way to welcome guests.

Once checked in, which was speedy, we were escorted to our room. This was a nice touch as our escort was able to point out and describe items about the hotel. It was almost like a condensed history lesson on the walk to our room. Inside the corridors of the hotel, you'll find that the new hotel was fitted around the existing structure, which is really beautiful from a design standpoint, but also in terms of preserving the original structure.

Inside the room, you'll find everything is modern and sophisticated. High-gloss cabinet and closet faces, stone throughout the bathroom, dark wood flooring and all of the expected conveniences; coffee machine, safe, refrigerator, LCD televisions, etc.

We also ate at Tunes, the restaurant housed within the hotel. Hotel restaurants are generally something we'd try to avoid, but on day one, there was a torrential downpour of rain, so we decided to stay indoors. We're glad we did. The dining area was as beautiful as the rest of the hotel, but what's more, the food was delicious. So much so that we electively decided to eat there again the following night.

I'd easily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam. It's not as central as say any of the hotels near Dam Square, but it's also not a hike. We found Amsterdam to be very compact and walkable, so almost any are will work. From our location, we were able to walk all over, visting the Van Gogh museum (currently temporarily housed at Hermitage Amsterdam) as well as The Nine Streets, so getting around is not an issue. It's a beautiful walking city, so the Conservatorium's location is perfect for that.

Overall a great stay, highly recommended. We'll be staying here again when we return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It’s a true pleasure to read your kind comments on our hotel. We are delighted to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We also thank you for your warm recommendation, and are already looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel facilities:
Amazing refurbishment of this old Conservatorium building. Designed by Piero Lissoni: fantastic ! Classy, eclectic, understated. A bit dark but in the style of the old music rooms.
Spa, pool, saunas, Turkish bath etc : all amazing.
Rooms: HUMONGEOUS windows; double height; super high tech - maybe slightly complicated but the host accompanying to the room would spend all the time required to explain everything to you.
Issues we personally encountered:
Speaker system (5 out of the amazing 6 loudspeaker) did not work properly; nor did the Bluetooth which connects your personal devices (iPhones, iPads etc) to the room speaker system was malfunctioning; Nespresso coffee machine dodgy.
How did the staff respondend:
AMAZINGLY efficient and prompt. They immediately addressed all matters.
We were staying for 3 nights and they offered an immediate upgrade to (hear hear) one of their 2 Presidential suites !!!
Despite the unbelievable beauty of it, we decided not to leave our room because we loved it !
The room host Mr Peter (who works there since the very opening of the hotel less than 1 year ago) was simply outstanding: after we kindly rejected the upgrade, he sent a fantastic bottle of white wine and a cake (it was my birthday as well): and just because he had coincidentally heard us talking about it in the lobby (!!!)
In all: a lifetime experience. We stayed at many fantastic hotels in our past: this one will forever stay in our very top list.
Location: right in front of the Museuplein.
Bar / Breakfast: classy and delicious. With awesome Nespresso coffee and whatever else you wish. Not overwhelming buffet - but just perfect.

Room Tip: Make sure you are happy with all the technology before you settle down !
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate the fine comments you make about our services and I will certainly convey them to the entire team. We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews