We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The hotel is still in its last stages of completion, but visitors will not really note that. We did not notice any construction noise or other inconveniences. The entrance of the hotel has a great ambiance. The personnel outside (valet parking) and at the front desk were very friendly and service oriented. We had to wait quite some time before we could get the key, but that was probably because we arrived at 3 in stead of 5 as originally planned. We were offered a complimentary drink fro the brasserie whilst waiting though. The room we booked ( standard double) was clean, comfortable, luxerous but smallish. Good matrass. The spa looks great, but is aso still in its completion stage ( no inconvenience though). Breakfast ok, although having to pay additional for fried eggs etc (eventhough breakfast was included in room price) was a bit surprising (especially considering that the hotel rates are quite high)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

We took advantage of the current special rates as most hotel rooms are still at work. The public areas restaurants ,bar , spa , gym and pool are all open ,fully operational and are amazing. We stayed at a two level room - one of the best we ever stayed. Staff was great and helpfull . Brasserie has great food and compared to other restaurants we tried in Amsterdam the prices are even on the low side and much tastier. Location is great for high end shopping and all major museums. Perfect place for a romantic weekend in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Conservatorium Hotel and taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive feedback regarding the Brasserie and the public areas. We look forward to welcoming you again for a romantic weekend.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very nice hotel (design, nice duplex room) and great locationand great gym infrastructure
Friendly staff but still need to practice as they do not seem to be ready
only few services available: after 8 weeks, still no laundry or dry cleaning available
some heater problem in the duplex room as the heater is just at the upper floor, which mean the lower floor is quite cold
food at the brasserie is good (breakfast and dinner) but food at the upper restaurant does not bring value for money
only a few rooms available, still a lot of workers in the building

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The hotel is still under construction. Just a small amount of rooms is in use right now. The former conservatory is beautifully constructed and maintaned all its floors, walls ceilings very well. It is actually a very cosmopolitan hotel. Like you will find in New York, London, Copenhagen etc.
It is difficult to give the right opinion yet. I had read reviews about lousy service and arrogant attitude, but that was not our opinion today at the Brasserie. Very friendly and service minded people, great atmosphere and a likable crowd. We bumped into many friends(all from Amsterdam).
A good place to take your foreign business partners to.
Looking forward to try the restaurant " Tunes" , with it's chef from the former Blakes and the College Hotel. Quite pricy though and not to flexible on the fixed courses, i have heard, but better find out myself.
I did not dare to give it 5 stars yet, because we have to see how they are doing a little later on this year. But in the mean time i am a fan and going to try out the High Tea at the Brasserie soon and definitely will be back for breakfast and brunch!. Love their menu anyhow.
Along the corridor on the main entrance level(with is not open yet), you will find a beautiful cigar shop and the well known beautiful decorated jewelry shop "Bonebakker" .
Rooms not yet finished yet and what i found is that you are not able to open the windows of the rooms. I would not like that! I hate to smell the former visitors in a room. Love to sleep with 'fresh' air.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank madelon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

It is indeed a very new hotel. So you will find some nook and crannies where the work has not been completed. The day we arrived, the sauna wasn't even working and the gym equipment have not been connected to the TV system (they have this Life Fitness equipment where you can attach your iPod/iPhone and/or watch TV).

However, one can sense that the personnel all try to overcome this shortcoming by going out of their way to be nice. And for that effort (even if they still have ways to go), I give them an "A."

This is a quiet hotel (well, you can hear the trams, once in a while) located near the Rijksmuseum and just across Van Gogh museum. So if museum is your thing, this is a perfect hotel for you. However going to the center isn't a problem. Tram no. 5 stops right in front of the entrance of the hotel.

The restaurant is closed on Sundays, but we went there the following day and we had a great time. You need to reserve though as it can get pretty full. For those of you who want to have a lot of choices for your meal, this isn't the place for you. It has only three set menus and the price tends to be on the high end. I will have my review of the restaurant in another write up.

The hotel has some unique interior designs and one of the most unique TV sets I have seen. The bathroom though still needs some refinement as the water from the shower tends to overflow to the bathroom area. Or maybe this was just my running the shower too much.The bathroom door tends to be heavy and rather has an inconvenient handle. Also, the cabinets are neatly tucked away on the walls - you will hardly notice them. Clever design, I must say.

The wifi is by Swisscom and it's for free for all your apparatus. So if you are like me: iPhone (2), iPad, and Macbook, you are in luck.

It has its birth pains but it has its potential. Maybe the next time I come back (as I definitely will), they can go up to being an excellent hotel. For now, I must say this is a very good new hotel in Amsterdam: far enough from the tourist throngs but near enough to have access to anywhere.

Room Tip: We liked our room facing Van Baerlestraat. we were on the 5th floor, and with a loft for the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear guest,
Hereby I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write down all the positive comments on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, even with an 'A' for the service, here at the Conservatorium hotel. With your comments we are able to keep improving our service and maintain the standards we would like to reach.
Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We live close by to this Hotel annex restaurants and we could not complain about the existing restaurants in the aerea. But the restaurant Tunes in The Conservatorium Hotel is a real ad on for the City.
Food was excellent, staff well trained and pleasent. The architecture of international allure.
We were extremely pleased with the accoustics.
We also had lunch in the Brasserie of the hotel. À great place and good Food.

Room Tip: Did not stay in The Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pim1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your time to write positive comments about your experience at Tunes restaurant by Schilo and the Brasserie and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food. I will share your comments with all the team members and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel.
Kind regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The combination of an old, completely restored historic building and modern architecture is really beautiful and almost overwhelming when you enter the glass walled Atrium with the Piero Lissoni designed Lounge, Brasserie and Staircase. We stayed 5 nights; the rooms are very luxurious with excellent beds, a specially designed entertainment system and private expresso machine. The bathrooms are comfortable, with fantastic rain showers, separate toilets and a very large bath. The breakfast is served in the Brasserie with an excellent choice of fresh products. We had diner in the Tunes Restaurant where the famous Chef Schilo van Coevorden has lost nothing of his creative skills. We loved it all; the food, the elegant and creative atmosphere, the rooms and the professional and friendly service. All the staff members will go out of their way to assure you a comfortable stay. The Spa was not yet finished, but we understand that it will be amazing and so we look forward to come back when it is open. Oh and don't forget to make stop at the trendy Bar where the locals meet after work. The hotel's location is first class, within walking distance to the most famous Museums, the top shopping areas (PC Hooftstraat) and the city's main centre. We believe, that the Conservatorium Hotel, after completion of the remaining construction work, will be the best Hotel in Amsterdam, certainly when the Spa opens in January.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lonegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $429 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing