We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of Van Speyk

Van Speyk
Ranked #108 of 3,806 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $57
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Tampa, FL
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. It was the last night of our honeymoon and they did a wonderful job of making us feel special. The food was truly unique and was an experience I'll never forget!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eraugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    362
    69
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went here because my daughter used to know one of the chefs when she lived in the Netherlands. We got lucky because this was an excellent choice. The greeting was friendly and professional, the service professional but convivial with out lovely Waitress finding time to talk with us. The Merlot we had was very good and well priced too. The food was excellent. I had the beef, which was melt in the mouth and my wife did even better with the sea bream. Al lovely meal, great service in a nice atmosphere. I will definitely return when I go back to Amsterdam.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Elegant Dutch Food in a Relaxing Setting”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The food, service and atmosphere was superb. Wandered in because it was close to our hotel, then later spoke with our concierge who recommended it. Very fair price for the quality.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dutch meets Francaise”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Wonderful small meal at the end of a big day touring Amsterdam. I had a salad and my wife had a great soup. We shared a nice little bottle of wine and then split a fabulous plate of local cheeses. We were able to see several dishes we wish we were hungry for.

Like everywhere we went in Amsterdam, the staff spoke wonderful English and were very attentive!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for the seafood”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have to say that I don't recognise this restaurant from some of the recent poor reviews. We booked a table for dinner on the basis of the good reviews on this site and were glad that we did so. The food was very good without being totally top notch and the service was excellent. If anything spoilt the experience, it was that, with the location being fairly close to the centre of town (near the station), the restaurant attracted a fair number of tourists - and, unfortunately, a tourist group en masse can be rather boorish.

A first course of scallops with a salad mixed with tiny shrimps was thoughtfully created and utterly delicious; mains of halibut and sea bream were perfectly cooked, with the sea bream being particularly wonderful; the only criticism would be that the halibut was perhaps a little overpowered by its bed of potato. A superb cheese platter (largely French cheeses, however) rounded off an excellent meal.

Altogether, this was a memorable, if slightly expensive, meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Speyk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Speyk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing