We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Speyk

Van Speyk
Ranked #92 of 3,368 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $57
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I'm going to start by a criticism; not of the restaurant but tripadvisor. Van Speyk is ranked 50th and Anna's which serves incredibly gourmet nouvelle is ranked much lower. I don't work for Anna's or have any financial interest etc. If Tripadvisor is a popularity contest that is one thing, if it is a democratic organ to vote on quality that is another, and here in Amsterdam, I think it is more of a popularity contest.
That said, Van Speyk is a very nice restaurant with good food and a nice ambiance and interesting wine list. I asked our waiter if the food was typically Dutch and he said more French, so there you go. I had their Dutch beef stew an my wife a veal dish, we both had fish starters and the food was well prepared and served. The price was fair and I think represents good value but this is not a cutting edge restaurant. I would be happy to eat here again

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robdewitte, Manager at Van Speyk, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Spectator,

First of all, thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you've enjoyed your meal in our restaurant, and of course your meals in other places in Amsterdam as well. The list of restaurants displayed on Tripadvisor is large and displays a lot of variety, once searching you will find bars, michelin star restaurants, diners, gourmet restaurants and many more. Is the list a popularity contest? I don't know. What I think it is, is a list of travelers' one-time dining experiences and their rating of the quality of that single experience. Of course there are many restaurants in Amsterdam who serve "better" food than we do, you can find that on our website and we will always explain in person that what we do and want to do is serve basic, but well-prepared food in a nice atmosphere with good service. That is the concept of a Brasserie, no nouvelle quisine but well-known French and local classics in fair portions for a decent price.
The reasons why a restaurant is popular on Tripadvisor have to do with quality of food and service, of course location (no traveler goes to the outskirts of the city), and in our opinion most of all consistency. A restaurant will only become highly rated in general if the vast majority of guests enjoy their experience. One bad experience can be enough to significantly lower the restaurant's position on Tripadvisor's list of places to eat in Amsterdam. In short, dining at Van Speyk won't blow you away, and it most likely will never do. However, we will always keep trying to maintain our standard and make sure that everyone gets a well-prepared meal accompanied by the best possible treatment of our staff, in which we have often succeeded so far. We value every opinion helping us to achieve that goal. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

the Van Speyk team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    300
    64
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Modern European Brasserie with a Dutch accent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Recommended by our hotel. Got what we expected - nice brasserie style decoration - brasserie style food with a dutch flavour - staff were friendly and capable. Very nice evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hip, pleasant place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Happened upon this restaurant, and we really had an extremely pleasant time and the waiter Yannick was very knowledgeable about wines, and the ambiance and experience were great, and we wished we could have dined here again. One of our two favorite eateries in Amsterdam.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caryva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Dutch Offerings - Good Food Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our hotel recommended Van Speyk as a good option for getting a traditional Dutch meal and I am so glad they did. I had the Beef Stew, which was basically a great cut of beef (like a really nice pot roast) over mashed potatoes with a side of sausage and mustard. I LOVED IT!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amicable ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We wanted a restaurant near the hotel and went there based on reviews. Fortunately we reserved a table as it was full and those without reservations were offered table for later in the evening. Could not fault the food, service or ambience. In particular, we were impressed by the friendly helpful staff. I would recommend for couples.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mingle888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Speyk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Speyk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing