We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely anniversary evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Speyk

Van Speyk
Ranked #105 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $57
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
UK - Hants
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely anniversary evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We ate here for our wedding anniversary having strolled up the Singel from our hotel. We had booked and would suggest the same as the restaurant grew busier as the evening went on. Food was lovely but the service variable. We had to ask twice for the drinks we ordered and noticed that other tables were having similar problems. May have just been our waiter possibly? Good atmosphere and a great summer evening eatery.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    350
    67
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place staff very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I wanted a good steak and thats what i got... a lovely rib eye steak. however why say its USA origin when its not? - not tender enough and too cheap for USA

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robdewitte, Manager at Van Speyk, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Iain,

Thank you for your review. We're glad to see you've enjoyed your steak, however, I promise you our ribeye is of USA prime beef. When cooked rare all ribeye is less tender than when cooked medium/rare or medium (how we advise it), including USA beef. My colleague told me you work in the meat industry, so this discussion is difficult to engage. Still, we don't lie to our guests, our ribeye is American, just as the striploin is Australian and the lamb from New Zealand. If you compare our prices in general to other restaurants, you will find out that these are also "too" cheap. This is not because we are liars, but because we maintain lower profit margins than many others in order to stay affordable for our guests (for example, a whole rack of lamb for 22,50, 120 grams of duck liver for 17,50, bouillabaisse for 8,50 are in fact a bit "too" affordable for what they cost us). Hospitality isn't all about money, we aim to provide good food and service for a moderate price. We hope you understand that we wouldn't lie about this.

Best regards,

the Van Speyk team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
147 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Eating out at this restaurant doesn't come cheap but it can be worth every cent. Every dish I ordered, whether Foie Gras or the Duck breast was cooked to perfection. The service was excellent and the ambiance had a touch of aristocracy. Overall one of the best restaurants I have encountered in my travels across Europe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Atanu_Maulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of ambiance, food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Our first time, won't be our last. From the crystal chandeliers/bricks and wood paneling from old abbeys, to the exquisite duck breast, to Yanick, our friendly but efficient, funny but honest, charming but totally professional waiter........this was a great evening!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoSd2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food in a convenient setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went for a low key dinner and just wanted some good food and wine. We got it. A couple of notes. The asparagus was fresh, tasty and well prepared. The beef stew was great. like well cooked short ribs, falling apart tender and very tasty. My sone proclaimed the steal to be the best in Europe, maybe a little hyperbole but still excellent. The wine list is okay with reasonable prices and a broad selection to choose from. This is good place to go for a very solid experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zarilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Speyk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Speyk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing