We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very tasty meal”
Review of Van Speyk

Van Speyk
Reserve with
Van Speyk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 4,042 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $57
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I chose this restaurant based on the Trip Advisor reviews and the mouth-watering menu. The restaurant itself has a great ambience, the tables are nicely placed so you feel you have your own space even though it is a busy restaurant. The food was fabulous, i particularly recommend the Dutch stew. The service was ok, my main criticism would be that the finished starter plates were sat in front of us for a little too long but then we felt rushed to make a dessert choice when we could have done with a rest before looking at the menu. I think these situations could be avoided by having waiters dedicated to particular tables rather than three or four being all over the place. However, these were very small niggles during an overall lovely experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beckyboo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robdewitte, Manager at Van Speyk, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Becky,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you've enjoyed your meal with us. Unfortunately your waiter appears to not have been able to give you the service we try to provide to everyone (although we do divide our restaurant into sections like most do), my guess is he or she got very busy and needed help from another waiter or myself. It was not our intent to rush you, we try to give everyone a relaxed night out. We hope to see you again for a chance to (im)prove ourselves!

Best regards,

the Van Speyk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 650 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a lovely meal here. Service is excellent and the food is very good indeed. The Black Angus steak and the Dutch stew were particularly good. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and the decor is excellent.

Will definitely visit again. (Save room for the cheesecake, too!)

Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robdewitte, Manager at Van Speyk, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Simon,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy to see you've enjoyed your night with us and hope to be able to welcome you again someday.

Best regards,

the Van Speyk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

First time in Amsterdam and visited here based on TA reviews. I wanted to try dutch food. I had dutch stew the Mrs had lamb rack. Food was beautiful. Quality of meat was excellent and melted in our mouths. Only issue for me was that we were first people eating that evening and parts of my meal were luke warm at best. Not hot enough at all. But I can let it pass as it tasted great.
Service was good very polite staff.
Overall really enjoyed evening.

Thank RichyRichManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robdewitte, Manager at Van Speyk, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review! Our apologies for the food not being hot, we should have prevented that from happening! We are happy to see that despite bits of it being lukewarm, you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you another time for a nice (hot) meal.

Best regards,

the Van Speyk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had looked at this restaurant on our previous visit but from the front - the entrance on Nieuwidzjid Voorbrugwal - it looked a little difficult to access with my wheelchair, so had not visited. This time, on our way to our hotel from the station we noticed that the rear entrance, on spuistraat, looked easier to access; there was a special menu on the board outside too, and the specials sounded delicious, so we made a mental note to give it a try, later in our stay as we had plans or that evening.

The next day was Ash Wednesday, and having looked at a few places for a 'no meat' option on a menu that took our fancy we ended up, quite late, at Van Speyk; the staff asked for 5 minutes to set our table and to finish getting the meals out from a large party that was just awaiting service - no problem, we respected that we wouldnt like our food going cold while they set up for new guests!

Soon we were seated at a place just inside the door, but the most easy access we could have had, the staff helped to open the doors for us, which are a little tricky to negotiate when pulling a wheelchair in, and then backing up to open the other door with pulls inwards; I would not anticipate that they would ever not help though as the staff are very nice and helpful.

We are not really big fish eaters, nor veggie, so we selected from the menu somewhat reluctantly the fish options (as I said earlier, it was Ash Wednesday); I chose the shrimp croquettes to start, and hubby the scallops, and we both had the sea bream for main. The starters were both delicious,cooked to perfection and presented beautifully; the croquettes were delish BUT the scallops were to die for, and like i say, we are not fishy people! When mains arrived we were a little disappointed because the portion size looked, well not small, but not large by Dutch standards at least, and also because we would rather have been eating the steak or duck; We should not have worried, as the portion size was perfect, we were both full after our meal, the fish was nice and the mashed potato delicious and a lovely creamed consistency. We really were full, but could not resist the lure of the crème brulee with hazelnut – plus a glass of the desert wine. Perfection. The bill, which was for the 2 of us, including wine, beer and 3 course meal plus tip came to just under 100e – and was excellent for what we had and the quality of the meal and service – which was attentive but understated, not people hovering nor being left alone.
The following day we kept saying how much we had enjoyed the previous evening, but as it was St Valentine’s Day we were convinced that we wouldn’t get a table there that evening, but just after lunch after discounting some alternatives we had fancied, we decided that we would walk down to see if there was room before making an alternative selection. Much to our delight, there was room for us, so we were very happy and the staff seemed pleased that we were returning.
On arrival, the door was held open for us again, and we were shown to our table – which was the same as the previous night, the chair was already removed to allow my wheelchair to get into position immediately, and a reserved sign on the table. We were greeted well and given our menus and our drinks order taken. We were looking forward to selecting from the full menu this night, as we had felt restricted the evening before, but, because the scallops had been so good the night before I selected them, hubby had the Onion Soup, and for main hubby had the black angus beef, and I had the Duck breast from the specials board – again both starters and mains were delicious and portion size perfect, leaving us full; the only negative point from this visit was that the service, although attentive, the kitchen was very, very slow even though the restaurant was less busy than the previous evening, and after an hour and a half we were just getting our mains; Our waiter had apologised for the delay and had chased up the service for us, but even so it was a little slower than we would have liked. As a result we decided not to have a desert – just another glass of wine.
When we asked for the bill, our waiter informed us that our first glasses of wine were complimentary as an apology for our wait, which we appreciated as it meant they were at least aware that the service had been slow that evening.
In conclusion, the food here is very good, the service was good even if one night was slow, and if asked would we eat here again – without doubt; I just wish it was in Liverpool not Amsterdam, so I could visit more often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robdewitte, Manager at Van Speyk, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your kind and extensive review! We are happy to see that you've enjoyed both your nights in our restaurant. Unfortunately the wait was indeed very long on Valentine's day, that shouldn't have happened, but the kitchen staff had a very difficult time since every couple entered at around the same time. The drink I gave you was the least I could do, after all, in the end my job is to have everyone leave with a smile on their face and at Van Speyk we intend to do that well. I hope the wait on Valentine's day didn't change your mind about us, and we hope to be able to welcome you again someday!

Best regards,

the Van Speyk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited Van Speyk for dinner on a Saturday night, and were lucky to get the last available walk-in table at around 7:30pm. All the rest had been reserved beforehand. The service was good, decor excellent with a warm brick interior and dimly lit chandeliers. We ordered one 3-course set (smoked salmon, duck with poached pear & mashed potato and chocolate crepe) and one a la carte meal (bouillabaise and angus beef). Everything was cooked to perfection. Together with a bottle of French Syrah the bill came up to EUR 70 or so. A little pricey, but would definitely visit again the next time we are in Amsterdam.

Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robdewitte, Manager at Van Speyk, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Tanya,

Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to see you've enjoyed your meal with us and hope to welcome you back in our restaurant someday!

Best regards,

the Van Speyk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Van Speyk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Speyk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing