We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Company visit to Aquatech.”
Review of Skotel Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skotel Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Company visit to Aquatech.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We used the skotel for our show in Amsterdam, the hotel was fantasic. The personnel very kind and very efficient. The rooms were perfect. The students were very friendly and helpful.
The only small thing was that the breakfast took far too long. Maybe it would be better to make it Buffet style.
Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    67
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
86
26
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savona, Italy
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good connections to downtown by tram, good hospitality, precise service, comfortable and clean rooms...definitely an outstanding low cost alternative for a staying in Amsterdam. Strongly recommended especially to young travelers..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamfer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Skotel is about 15 minutes by tram from the centre of Amsterdam, but the tram stop is directly across the road so very convenient and very regular. Skotel was a great place to stay, good value, excellent and friendly service from the students who were trying so hard to be ultra professional. The room was comfortable, breakfast excellent, and nothing was too much trouble for the student staff. It was a lot of fun to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was recommended this accommodation by a friend and former student of the den Haag school. The rooms were new, clean, spacious, comfortable and well appointed; luxurious even by my standards, yet affordable. I stayed for 3 nights. The students were friendly and attentive, and eager to please. The food from the student run kitchen was fresh and delicious. Breakfast, included with the price of the room, served their sourdough bread "Herman" and the homemade jams pastries were all divine. Their fine dining restaurant Le debut was a lovely experience, and excellent value.

The main difference between this and a commercial hotel is the amenities available outside of the room are minimal, and formal. The bar closes at 7pm, and the restaurant is a limited seating, prix fix affair (though a lovely dining experience) My only want was some sort of vending machines for after hours snacks and cold beverages as there is little available in the immediate vicinity.I was able to arrange to have my breakfast as take away for my very early morning departure.

Conveniently located if you are travelling by bike or transit, though it is a bit far from the action by foot, but that is good if you want to avoid the mayhem of the Centrum. The tram, bus and night bus all have stops outside the door - Admiraal Helfrichstraat. #13 will take you the centre, as well, the hotel is within easy access to Lelylaan station where you can catch the sprinter to Schiphol, and is far simpler to navigate than Centraal.

Will definitely stay again, and recommend to others.

Room Tip: There are only a limited number of rooms available. Each is furnished by a different hotel, so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found this hotel on trip advisor. We enjoyed our two night stay at the hotel. The room and bathroom was good and the students/staff couldn't do enough for you. It was a great location for going into the centre of Amsterdam, with the tram being right out the front of the hotel and taking you right into the middle of the city.
The only negative, is that the Hotel offered to do our washing, as the laundry down the road was closed for the weekend, we sent off a load of washing and when it was returned some of it was still quite damp. We called reception and they offered to run it though the dryer again. Also, I noticed some underwear missing and a sock. I had also received another sock which wasn't mine. I called reception and they found the missing sock, but are unable to find the missing underwear.
In the weeks since we left, I have now discovered that a t-shirt was also misplaced. I believe it may be possible that other washing was done at the same time and someone else has walked away with my clothes. Would pay to be sure about what you hand in to be washed, if you choose to do this. Otherwise, would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The service was excellent, the room was immaculate, clean and very modern. Slept well and lovely breakfast, again service wonderful. Its a short 10/15m ride on the tram to the City Centre which is very easy. Great value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robc1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Amsterdam

Property: Skotel Amsterdam
Address: Jan Evertsenstraat 171, 1057 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skotel is the traininghotel of Hotelschool The Hague-Amsterdam Campus.Our students will be very happy to welcome you at our hotel and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing