We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Get lost in time and space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Book In Advance
$24*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
Ranked #45 of 453 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tropenmuseum is a museum about people, housed in an impressive listed building overlooking Amsterdam's Oosterpark. The extensive permanent display and regularly changing exhibitions feature objects that all have a story to tell about humankind. Stories about universal human themes like mourning, celebration, ornamentation, prayer, conflict. From Africa to West and Southeast Asia, from New Guinea to Latin America: come to the Tropenmuseum and discover that, despite cultural differences, we are all essentially the same.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Get lost in time and space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a huge museum in Amsterdam and you shouldn't miss it. Even then, you might not have properly seen it all. The museum offers insight and information about cultures of the world such as Asia, Africa, the Carribean. You will see traditional objects, hear traditional music and see short-films presenting typical activities or traditions from the respective areas. The museum's collection is almost overwhelming and we needed around 3 hours to "quickly" fly through almost everything as it is so big. After 3 hours we were tired and gave up, maybe we will return another day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bea-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    257
    79
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The whole world in vast building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We only had an hour and must go back to see more. We spend some time in a Cairo café and then the World Music Room. In fact there is much it started to blur together in my mind as we walked back to the hotel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank michaelj108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Escher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I went to see only the Escher collection that was coincidentally on display when I was visiting there... I loved the Escher section and spent most of my time there...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sameeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Amsterdam visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Incredible variety of historical and artistic artefacts relating to the Dutch colonial past, beautifully presented with English texts. Surprisingly few visitors when we were there. Top attraction for us, will definitely come again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HornF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“More interesting than you'd expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

All the signage in the main museum is in Englsh as well as Dutch. Very well set out explanations for different previously Dutch colonies, separate areas for different areas of the world, with colourful and diverse exhibits to keep children Musical instruments from around the world room good. The Children's exhibit part was unfortunately only in Dutch for the tour, but was very enthusiastically explained by the guide, and currently features Brazil to tie in with the World Cup. You can wander around by yourself, there's fantastic recycled bright exhibits. Recommended museum for children 6+.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank W4Familywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing