We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tropen institue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Book In Advance
$43.10*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #46 of 466 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tropenmuseum is a museum about people, housed in an impressive listed building overlooking Amsterdam's Oosterpark. The extensive permanent display and regularly changing exhibitions feature objects that all have a story to tell about humankind. Stories about universal human themes like mourning, celebration, ornamentation, prayer, conflict. From Africa to West and Southeast Asia, from New Guinea to Latin America: come to the Tropenmuseum and discover that, despite cultural differences, we are all essentially the same.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Tropen institue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice .especially for children. Lots of interesting things to see and to do. People are very friendly and explane everything. You must spend one day to see the nice things

Helpful?
Thank robbert63
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    277
    89
    20
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

when I visited there was an exhibition on Escher meets islamic art which I thoroughly enjoyed. 12 euros to get in. Fab wee bit for kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean VA
Level Contributor
235 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Really special museum in danger of closing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Tropenmuseum is a fascinating museum of cultures all over the world, not just the cultures of former Dutch colonies. There are great displays, for both adults and children, and it well worth visiting after hitting the usual top tourists spots, especially if you are traveling with children. The small gift shop is also especially good, with products from all over the world.

But hurry--as of fall 2013, budget cuts by the Dutch government have given the museum only a three-year lease on life, and it's unclear what's going to happen after that. It would be a shame if it closed or if its exhibits were merged with other cultural museums in Holland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geldolphMcLeanVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“interesting museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Maybe it's because I am from Israel but I had a hard time understanding why the Dutch people celebrate their colonial history and rub all the things they robbed in our faces.
Leaving this feeling aside, it has a very interesting and authentic collection. go check out the Indian section which is beautifully assorted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Informative and Entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I do not like musuems.. but I loved this one. The palace itself is beautiful, and a perfect setting for such a fascinating musum. It was the first thing I visited in Amsterdam, and the most unique I remember. It is informative, interactive, entertaining.. We would have spent days in there... Bring your children!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TripPAOLA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing