We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Surprising” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Book In Advance
$43.43*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #46 of 466 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tropenmuseum is a museum about people, housed in an impressive listed building overlooking Amsterdam's Oosterpark. The extensive permanent display and regularly changing exhibitions feature objects that all have a story to tell about humankind. Stories about universal human themes like mourning, celebration, ornamentation, prayer, conflict. From Africa to West and Southeast Asia, from New Guinea to Latin America: come to the Tropenmuseum and discover that, despite cultural differences, we are all essentially the same.
Catterick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this museum because we had a couple of hours to fill, how I wish we'd had longer. So interesting and informative without being dry and academic. Every floor is a feast of colour and sound. I'd have loved to have the time to watch every video and listen to all the recordings. I learned about parts of the world I previously knew nothing about. Altogether a fascinating experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    275
    89
    20
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I visited the Tropenmuseum in August 2013. We were there to see the Esher Meets Islamic Art exhibit and spend several hours touring the entire museum. Well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fascinating for the armchair traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great Escher exhibit on tessellations and the influence of Islamic art.

It's fun to wander around the permanent collection as well. The cafe offers interesting foods from some of the "tropical" regions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank extinctdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The perfect fun museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

They have typical houses constructed to show each of the tropical cultures, well organized and explained. It's a big museum and one of my favorites in the world! I strongly recommend, it's also very interesting for the kids. Now they have a nice temporary exhibition of Escher and his relation with islamic art.

Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful collection of ancient artefacts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This museum has a wonderful collection of ancient artefacts and also tells a nice story about the various cultures and traditions. It was a nice enriching experience. The museum has 3 floors, the top most floor has most of the African, Surinamese, Mayan, Aztec history and the second floor has Indian, African, South Asian history. The ground floor has a few more collections and recreational space. Would recommend this museum to learn more about the various cultures and traditions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreamgirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing