We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“hood and hype!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdamse Bos

Amsterdamse Bos
Book In Advance
and up
Amsterdam Countryside Bike Tour Including Cheese Tasting and Clog Demonstration
Ranked #32 of 462 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Covering an area of almost 1000 hectares, the Amsterdamse Bos is one of the largest city parks in Europe. It contains 150 indigenous species of trees and over 200 species of birds. The park sits to the South of central Amsterdam and can easily be reached by bike, tram or metro from the city center.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“hood and hype!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

nice place situated in the "bos" behind the ING ship, the food was excellent and with a very modern presentation I like, good but expensive wines, it is a jetset place, dress accordingly!

Visited October 2012
Thank AnnikPaquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“why did I never hear of this before?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was an almost lastminute discovery, so didn't research details maybe enough in advance. We took the tramroute No5 as it runs near the apartment we stay in. Ended up walking through I believe Amsteldeen village. Then I'm afraid, we got a little lost. We ideally wanted to head for the visitor centre area. After some lack of signage, and walking for a while, we asked a Dutch family were we should be heading to to rent bikes. So, after that we walked maybe 20 further minutes and reached the visitor centre were we got a free small map of the forest and bought a cycle route map for 50cents.
Nearby was the cycle hire place (blue and white logo). www.amsterdamsebosfietsverhuur.nl
Cycle tracks here in the wood are car-free.You will need to fill in a brief form, and leave with them some photo ID along with your payment. We were given the choice of pedal-brake or hand-brake bicycles. We rented them for one hour as we wanted to be elsewhere in the afternoon, but I advise that if you have the time, book for longer as 1 hour is certainly not enough here to explore very far at all. As I am quite short 5'2", I found even the shortest seat setting on the adult bike a little tall for me. (Next size down is a child's size bike.).
It was a very enjoyable, though short trip here for us. We hadn't seen half of the attractions that this area has to offer yet. I advise you take the 170, 172 or 174 bus routes instead. Which all run close to the visitor centre. Although the bus fare was not covered by the central Amsterdam travelcard.(on blue buses - yes said the driver, but not on green buses). Next year when we rent the bikes, we will allow far more time(weather permitting), and we will go boating here in one of the boat rental areas. Saw the openair theatre. I also wanted to see the goat farm and didn't make it there, nor to the cheese making farm. So, plenty to see and do next year when we come again with better planning.

Visited September 2013
2 Thank LondonExplorer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Perfect "outcity" experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I spend great day walking, perfect picknick place, even can do some sport. fresh and relaxing air. Perfect place for families and friends, great for children. Amsterdamse Bos has great location, just near in Amsterdam, I suggest everybody to spend one sunny and relaxing day.

Visited June 2013
Thank Santa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very big forest once you go inside you will like to walk with no limit.inside the forest there is very beautiful goat farm it very nice to try their food.The forest is so big.When you want to get out try to choose the exit where yoy can walk through a small village it is Amsterveel very nice place.

Visited May 2013
Thank sanikoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect place to enjoy nature just outside Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

In fact the 'Amsterdanse Bos' (Amsterdam forest) is a huge park on the outskirts of the south of Amsterdam. It is perfect place for long walks and cycling tours. Because of the size of the forest it always give you the feeling that you are one of the few visitors. Which is not the case because a lot of people visit the forest. There are enough possibilities to entertain children and to have a meal or a drink in a restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Thank peter_de_wolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdamse Bos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Amsterdamse Bos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing