We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Chips...”

Manneken Pis Amsterdam
Ranked #254 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Chips...”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you're not used to condiments in Europe/Netherlands, you'd be best to just leave your chips plain. They're brilliant that way as well!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tcfd0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    296
    154
    45
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,586 reviews
794 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,216 helpful votes
“Just chips....but lovely curry sauce !”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stopped here whilst wondering around Amsterdam. It's hard to miss, as there are queues of peopleoutside, the smell of chips wafts along the pavement and there are numerous people walking past you with big cones of chips!
We had a small portion of chips with curry sauce, which came to €3.50, which was slightly expensive in my opinion. Curry sauce was delicious (can't get anything like it in the UK), however the chips were just good chips.
i'd grab another portion if i were passing, but at the end of the day they weren't particularly special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polinya, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not special frites”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Everybody told us that eating fried potatoes at Amsterdam was a must, but after eating them... were not special: only frites without any special taste. It doesn't worth them.
The frites sauce is sweet mayonnaise. We didn't like it.
There are better fried potatoes in Spain.

Helpful?
Thank Jonatan P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must-try”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Yummy #1 fries in holland. I get them every time I'm in Amsterdam. A lot of options for sauces but honestly the mayo is best. The fries are filling and piping hot so be sure to bring your appetite!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank MoNeeKa125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“they are the best fries in Amsterdam”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Not much into the flavored sauses. Just Mayo please. They had a list of sauses to put on your fries. Don't need it they are great just with mayo or ketchup. Love my fries went to about 10 different FF stands in Amsterdam. Manneken pis has the coolest name and the best product of them all. Just so you know I don't smoke. And they have the best fries in Amstedam

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WillieGTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manneken Pis Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Manneken Pis Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing