We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eurotrip”
Review of Camping Zeeburg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Zeeburg
Ranked #21 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eurotrip”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here at the beggining of a trip round Europe in 2012. 6th time in Amsterdam, first time camping but best trip so far. Great atmosphere, good facilities including shop, bar, wifi, showers , swimming, easy access to the Centre. freshly baked rolls and cookies were amazing. Busy campsite no set tent pitches just find a space but that was part of the fun. Couple of cons ; no parking by tents , no electric hook up for tents, toilets and showers are closed when they are being cleaned (usually first thing in the morning) however these points made no impact on how much we enjoyed staying here. Will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    285
    78
    34
    32
See reviews for
105
310
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed at Camping Zeeburg over 13 times, Camping, Traveller huts and wagonettes and can honestly say it's cheaper to stay here than smaller towns such as breda, zandvoort, delft hout etc

Great facilties, lovely informative and helpfull staff, shame about the gate troll and early morning knocking on the day of departure but hey who cares !

Taking a tent? think twice it's windy here and I've seen many on the river Ij and many bent in half ;) take string or extra guy ropes if You are going to camp.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laulaulau131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed here before and the campsite is very good. Its only 15mins from central station on tram. From Amstel station its bus 37. The campsite has cabins if you don't like tents. All the felicities are also good.the staff Very friendly and helpful. I recommend this place for all age groups. Give it a try.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in a caravan we brought ourselves, and used the shared toilets & showers and the shop. The camping is just as you'd expect. There was no noisy bar, which was nice. The toilets & showers are clean, the shop is well stocked. (warm croissant anyone).

Weather you want to be on a camping in Amsterdam in October in a very rainy weekend, is your choice. This camping will surely do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reinier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

With hostels costing 4 times the amount and seeing as we were camping at a festival in the same trip and we had our tent figured we may as well stay here. So glad we did - LOVED this place! It was perfect for what we wanted - a nice chilled cheap place to sleep where we could enjoy some of what Amsterdam has to offer... We kept to ourselves as that was the type of trip we were after this time round but there seemed to be a pretty good atmosphere. It was not central Amsterdam but it wasnt a long walk to the tram station or a long tram ride and it was actually nice being away from the centre of things and being able to relax. Obviously camping is not the most comfortable but if you dont mind roughing it a little then it is fine. Definitely would go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19JAM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stated here for three nights and we thought it was a total rip off. We were in a wicked campervan and it cost us €15 a night basically for somewhere to park our car.
EVERYTHING costs extra; showers, maps, laundry, BBQ etc. There was supposed to be electricity but unless you own the right cable you're paying for something you can't use.

It is VERY windy and cold being on its own little island so I would not suggest sleeping in a tent but campervan or motor home only. And don't expect to be able to access the reception, bike hire or in house grocery store after 12pm, they're only open for 3 hours in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for a week. First I planned for 4 nights but then stayed for another 3 I enjoyed it so much. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The prices were way too good to beat. The location was perfect! Not too far from anything. I could walk back from the centre of town really easy. The animals on site made it so nice. It felt like I was camping on a farm. I loved waking to chickens outside my tent every morning. The bathrooms are very well kept. The showers however were freezing. Lovely views from the campsite and also lovely views walking to the campsite. When I come back to Europe expect to see me again Camping Zeeburg!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ati B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camping_Zeeburg, Manager at Camping Zeeburg, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Ati,
Thank you very much for your review. We are really sorry you had to experience the cold shower. This is not how it supposed to be therefore we took care of it. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Kind regards,
Staff of Camping Zeeburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Hotel Casa
#68 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#138 of 368 in Amsterdam
829 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Zeeburg

Property: Camping Zeeburg
Address: Zuider IJdijk 20, 1095 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a relaxed place to stay in Amsterdam? Then Camping Zeeburg is the perfect place to enjoy your holidays! A unique location, situated on an island in the IJmeer surrounded by nature and only 15 minutes away from the city centre. With an open, friendly and tolerant atmosphere we welcome all kinds of travelers, from all over the world. You can pitch your tent, bring your camper/caravan or stay in a comfortable wagonette or cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing