We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good site, shame about the lack of onsite Febo!”
Review of Camping Zeeburg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Zeeburg
Ranked #21 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good site, shame about the lack of onsite Febo!”
Reviewed February 4, 2008

This campsite is great for young travellers and tourists, and you save a lot not paying extortionate prices for a grotty hotel in amsterdam centre.

Advantages are the shop, the good transport links, onsite bar and bicycle rental.
Disadvantages, nothing big but no onsite campfires, which would be especially good in the winter, and night bus is slow/ not punctual.

Would defo recommend renting a bike as there is nothing like cycling the empty cycle lanes back to Zeeburg at night, in only 25 mins. Also if you have time try an hour or two, or a whole day in the kayaks. just watch out for the speedboats!
Will be returning to zeeburg in 2 weeks, may get a cabin as the Netherlands can get COLD in the winter!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Jasefest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    273
    73
    33
    31
See reviews for
99
297
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
arklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

well just came back from spending a week in the cabins in camping zeeburg.What a great place,cabins were clean,bar was fairly cheap and the whole place had a very nice vibe about it.
The campsite has everything you need in it really.there are some lovely walks just outside of the campsite aswell.the week we were there the weather was amazing,so this just added to the best week away i ever had,will definatly be going back to zeeburg.
The only one bad point about the campsite was some of the staff were the most ignorant and rude people i have ever met.My girlfriend asked for some toast one day and she ended up getting a bit of abuse off one of the staff,for what i dont know?,maby the girl was just having a bad day.Anyway would defo recomend this place.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank floydlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

When talking to my friends about staying in amsterdam, the thing that worried us the most was the likelyhood of being mugged or to be the victem of theift, then when we found out the only place we could afford to stay was a campsite we all thought the holliday was domed.

After we got there all our reservations and worries were completly cleared. the camsite was amazing! the on location bar was conveinent, cheap and well catered with some great live music, beer and continental food stuffs. The camp site was filled with some really cool people, no one was "out there to get you" evreone was there for the same reason and after the first night i diddnt feel any anxiety leaving all my belongings in a tent.

The staff were great, the food was tasty and the company was brilliant.

I enjoi'd the camping just about as much as being in amsterdam, and would really recomend it over staying in a hotel just for the social life (forgetting how ludicrously cheap it is).

I'll definitely be going again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank specimen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

If you want to see Amsterdam without spending a lot of money, this is the way to do it.

The two-person cabin was basic and small, but clean and secure. Because this is a campsite, there's no toilet or shower inside. For these you need to walk a short distance to the blocks located nearby. Again, these are kept clean and everything works as it should.

Any valuables can be left at reception for a 20 euro key deposit.

Basic provisions are sold by the camp shop. There isn't a huge amount on offer here, so make sure you take everything that you might need for your stay.

You can get some prepared food from the campsite bar. This is not especially great, but it is cheap and is served by friendly staff.

It is worth knowing that the reception is only open 0900-2100. So be careful about when you arrive and when you leave. Try not to book your flight too early in the morning and try not to arrive too late at night!

Amsterdam town centre is about 10-15 minutes away by tram (26 to Ijburg from Centraal) or night bus (359 from Centraal). A taxi from the campsite to Schiphol airport was 40 euros.

  • Liked — Excellent value for money
  • Disliked — It's not a hotel!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Praia de Ancora, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

went there with 5 friends we stayed in a cabin. very spacious cabins with a table and chairs. reception people were friendly and helpful. there is a small supermarket that sells beer very cheap. breakfast a bit expensive for me but very nice environment on the chillout area. also u can play pool for free and eat fast food and other stuff for cheap.
prices are average for camping sites but i went on new years so it was a bit expensive.
will recommend this place for anyone!

  • Liked — the restaurant/bar area
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank heliorodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

3 of us adults stayed here for 5 nights in July, the weather was perfect, hot balmy nights, ideal for sleeping under the stars.
The continental breakfast was great for 5 euros, a good start to the day. The staff were like friends very helpful and polite. The toilet/shower blocks were clean (there are 3 blocks of 4). They were cleaned every day one block at a time so there was 2 open always. The band was great on the Sunday afternoon, had all the children up dancing. There are washing machines and dryers (very cheap) you dont have to bring a lot of clothes. A 10 minute walk from the site is an open air swimming pool (which was also great to cool down in that July sun). The bikes we hired were ideal to get around on, (not one flat tyre haha). We will definately be goin back there this summer. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — The camping
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — hire a bike
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank carberrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

Friendly and helpful staff. Just a short tram ride away from Centraal station. A great deal for Amsterdam. Book early for the cabins. Store is well stocked and bathrooms kept clean. Not for small children, you can guess why. Lots of goats !?!

  • Tips/Secrets — Spring for the cabin
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t.ocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#102 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#130 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Zeeburg

Property: Camping Zeeburg
Address: Zuider IJdijk 20, 1095 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a relaxed place to stay in Amsterdam? Then Camping Zeeburg is the perfect place to enjoy your holidays! A unique location, situated on an island in the IJmeer surrounded by nature and only 15 minutes away from the city centre. With an open, friendly and tolerant atmosphere we welcome all kinds of travelers, from all over the world. You can pitch your tent, bring your camper/caravan or stay in a comfortable wagonette or cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing