We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The worst hostel in the world” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Young Budget Hotel Kabul

Young Budget Hotel Kabul
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Young Budget Hotel Kabul
Save
You added Young Budget Hotel Kabul to your Saves list
Warmoesstraat 38-42 | Old Centre: Red Light District, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #358 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“The worst hostel in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2005

I have stayed at some awful places on my travels but this one really is the pits....rooms were dirty, bed unchanged from previous visitors and staff rude and unfriendly. They even tried to keep our key deposits when we checked out after one night. I wouldn't book a room here for my worst enemy

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    5
    3
    19
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2005

Do you like pigeons? Does the overpowering aroma of urine set your heart racing? Does the prospect of housing nightly insect feasts on your own flesh fill you with joy? Perhaps sleeping in sauna temperatures whilst fearing for the health consequences of daring to open a window is more your style? Or maybe you just like to be woken by the delightful and unique screechings of the local pigeon turf wars? Is having incompetent and unfriendly staff a real turn on? If some or all of these enticing propositions form your Amsterdam accomadation checklist, and providing you have the relevent outdoor persuits qualifications necessary to scale the stairs, then the aptly-named "Hotel" Kabul your ideal Dutch experience.

On arriving in Amsterdam we were turned away from our intended accomadation and instead were put up in the smaller less enticing surroundings of Hotel Kabul. However, the similarities with the nativity tale did not end there, as we were amazed to discover the range of wildlife that greeted us in the stable-like conditions of Kabul. Our view overlooking the courtyard of rotting Pigeon corpses was particularly striking, though the impression this left on us was perhaps less tangible than that left by the insects who relentlessly chewed their way through our party during our stay.

We were especially perplexed by the dilema posed to us by the intense heat of our room. With the only window opening directly onto "pigeon yard" we were faced with a grim choice that ended in a combination of both foul smelling odours and heavy sweating as we attempted to strike an impossible balance.

Whilst the pigeons revelled in their lively role of waking us at sunrise, the Hotel staff were somewhat less spirited and provided a sullen, dull, and unhelpful attitude that was entirely inkeeping with the general ambience of Kabul (city and hotel).

The fact that i am not discussing at length the shortcomings of the decoration, the furnishings, security, the food, the stairs, the general hygene, and the toilet and shower facilities is reflective of the more concerning challenges provided during a stay at Hotel Kabul.

Kabul is not a hotel to be taken lightly and guests should be aware of the battles that will await them upon arrival. Kabul by name, Kabul by nature, just don't bother...

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2004

Hell on earth, filthy dirty disgusting...... anyway great location, coffeeshop 36 strongly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2004

The other reviews are dead on- too bad I didn't read them before I booked! A friend and I popped over to Amsterdam from London for a weekend trip, and like the poor students that we are, we looked for somewhere cheap to stay. The Hostel Kabul seemed like a gamble when we booked online, but we didn't think it'd be such a flop house. Pay a little more and stay someplace a LOT nicer. Unless you like bad smells, dirty bathrooms, and an overall feeling of creepy filth. (One positive thing- the location is great for getting to Centraal Station)

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eylonwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2004

This is with no doubt the worse place I ever stayed in.. Dirty, Stinky, and expensive.. we paid 115 euro for a triple bedroom (if room is the exact word for this **** hole) actualy we were 20 if you count the mice and bugs.. no warm water and dirty sheets, no closets, just 2 matrasses where we slept with our clothes on so we won't catch cholera or ebola..
Seriously, if someday this place is your only chance spending the night in Amsterdam, you better turn back home or go to Kabul in Afghanistan.. I'm sure you'll save yourself a lot of health..

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2004

8 of us where booked into a Hotel in Amsterdam. When we arrived only the 2 girls were accommodated. We were told that some works were going on in some rooms and there was not one for us. He took us approx 15 mins to another hotel. This one!! Bird poo inside the windows, pigeon problems, mice in the room. Came back with bites from something. Did not dare eat anything. Stairs were dangerous. Dirty toilet and showers. It is amazing that this hotel is allowed to rip people off and be open. What about health and safety and fire regulations. do they not exist in Amsterdam??

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2004

I stayed there May 2004. The walls of the building were supported by metal make shift poles. The room was a disgrace with no toilet or bathroom eventhough we paid 100EU a night for a double bedroom.

The view of the canal made the experience bareable but even that was ruined in the early hours of Sunday morning when a drugs addict from the next door room was screaming through the night and then jumped through the window. I guess I will remember my stay there forever for all the wrong reasons.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#309 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#258 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#221 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#239 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Young Budget Hotel Kabul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young Budget Hotel Kabul

Property: Young Budget Hotel Kabul
Address: Warmoesstraat 38-42 | Old Centre: Red Light District, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Young Budget Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing