We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping Site Vliegenbos”
Review of Camping Vliegenbos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Vliegenbos
Ranked #11 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Camping Site Vliegenbos”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Me and my friends loved this place! It is very close to the city; by foot it took us 20 minutes to get to the city centre using the free ferry! Although it is in the city, Vliegenbos is a quiet and green place, where one can relax and enjoy its holiday. The bathrooms are very clean and close to the camp site, so one doesn't have to walk great distances.The staff was absolutely lovely and obliging! They even offered to charge your phone or laptop in the main house, so you wouldn't have to worry about it. To put it in a nutshell, Vliegenbos is a great place to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Schokobreze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    255
    59
    26
    38
See reviews for
123
179
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Likes: We stayed 2 nights at the last part of the camping that we recommend for quite people!!! Receptionists very kind and helpfull! Good location in the other side of the river, lot of nature!
Dislikes: no plugs to charge electronic stuff (you have to take it to reception which is a little uncomfortable) - no toillet paper and no soap in bathroom (many other camping has)

Room Tip: We recommend the last seccion of the camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nahuel2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great place to spend a few nights, the staff are friendly and even help in emergencies when we found ourselves needing somewhere to stay at short notice with little cash! God send really. Thank you to all of you..my partner and i had a great time despite our circumstances and would recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: entrance to campsite quite hard to notice keep an eye out for the camp site sign on the right after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NannaGwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genova
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've been in the Camping for 2 nights with my camper. I was in a little place with not a lot of space. This is the only negativity I can write. The camping is really near the town, 10 minutes by bike. The camping is really well structured with bathroom and services clean nevertheless it is a "city camping" with really a lot of people tournovering.
Ciao

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank giorgio1962genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The main advantage of this camp site is the location. It took only 10 minutes to get to city center if you rent a bike and know boat schedule. Also there is a big "Dirk van den Broek" shop pretty close to the campsite. The only disadvantage is that many of your neighbors will be stoned all the time, but in our case all the weed smokers were funny and harmless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollendorf
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good campsite with great access to the city!

We've been to Amsterdam before and have always stayed in hotels, this time on our way through, we had our tent with us so we tried Vliegenbos. Everything we needed was available there, we were able to have our car close by and not have to look for parking. When we wanted to head into the city, we walked from the site to the free ferries and took the short ride to the Central Station.

To me this was actually better than staying at a hotel. In the city they are pretty expensive and in my opinion, not value for money. We also saved the trip of driving to the hotel, unloading the luggage, driving out to a Park+Ride, take to train/tram/bus back to the hotel and then repeat the process when leaving.

To highlight the thing that annoyed me was the Amsterdam minute. When I asked at the camping how far the ferry was, they said "a 15 minute walk". We managed to hustle the distance in 25 (yay team!). When we went to a restaurant (see my coming Loetje review), we were told there was a 30 minute wait for a table. We were knocking back drinks for an hour before we got the call. Come on Amsterdam, don't you think we tourists have watches!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fxhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stumbled across this campsite during a recent European cycle tour. We only stayed for a single night but we found the facilities to be very good, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. They even offered to charge our mobile phones overnight, and provide secure storage for valuable items, which could be accessed any time of the day or night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#131 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,211 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#141 of 367 in Amsterdam
910 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Vliegenbos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Vliegenbos

Property: Camping Vliegenbos
Address: Meeuwenlaan 138, 1022 AM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique location in the north part of Amsterdam.Just a 15 minutes walk to the ferry which takes to the hart of the beautiful city of Amsterdam. The campsite is situated in the oldest cityforest of the Netherlands.On site you´l find a nice restaurant, free showers and use of toilets.Being a geust gives you free wifi.Public transport to and from the city on 300 mtrs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Vliegenbos Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing