We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Meeting Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Meeting Point
Ranked #52 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The staff Is very friendly and they usually try to help you although the hostel does not offer many facilities. I've been there in January and the room was vero cold. Pillow and duvet pretty old and the bad was not very comfortable. Common places were ok, with free wifi and gender separately toilets and showers. There are no plug in bedrooms and I cold charge the phone only in the bar downstair. However bar prices were the lowest of the city.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    123
    98
    30
    19
See reviews for
3
21
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights and although I enjoyed being in the centre of the red light district, i did not enjoy my stay at the hostel.

Its run by private owners, none of which seem to be backpackers or have have much hostel experiance.

There are no locks on any of the rooms, so you have to keep everything in a locker for a chance at it being safe.
The bar/common room and bathrooms are the only places that have plug outlets which is very annoying!
The drinks at the bar are normal amsterdam prices, and the breakfast uou buy is too basic and my boiled egg was green and rotten!!
I would advise trying your luck at another Hostel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The first time I went to Amsterdam (2008), I didn't book a hotel/hostel before I left. I thought I would just wing it, and pick something when I got there. As soon as I got off at Central Station, I was already tired of dragging my bags around, so I thought I better make my decision quick. After about a 5 min walk, I stumbled upon this hostel. I thought it looked decent enough on the outside, and I really just wanted somewhere to drop my bags, so I could start exploring the city. I walked inside, and saw there were 8 bed dorms, or 18 bed dorms. I really couldn't imagine sharing a room with 18 people, so I immediately jumped at the 8 bed dorm option. I found the rate for the room cheap, even on weekends. I also didn't mind that you have to deposit 10 euro for a key to the locker in your room, as you get it back when you leave. I paid for my room, and they buzzed me in from the lobby through a secure door to the rest of the hostel. The door is locked 24/7, and only opened for people that show proof they are staying at the hostel. That made me feel a little more secure about staying at a hostel for the first time. Unless your on the first floor, the walk up to your room is good exercise to the say the least. I also didn't mind that, as I didn't plan on staying in my room too much. The lockers are a fair size, and I had no problem fitting my travel bag inside. The bedroom was clean, and the cots and bunk bed were basic. There is a shared bathroom on each floor, with two sinks, two showers, and two stalls with toilets. One for women, and a separate one for men. They clean the bathrooms twice daily. Downstairs they have a 24 hour open bar, which I found handy if I couldn't get to sleep. There always seems to be people down there at anytime of they day or night. They have a pool table, 2 computers, 2 flat screens, and a smoking room. The hostel also has a kitchen. They will make you breakfast, and also have a few snack items to choose from such as toasties (grilled cheese) hamburger, or a hotdog. I have returned to this hostel 3 times since the original stay in 2008. The most recent being this month of April 2014. Still has it's charm, and I still wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. I brought my friends along this time, all of whom were worried about staying at a hostel for the first time. They all loved it as much as I do. Its such a friendly atmosphere and the location is within walking distance to anywhere you would really want to go in Amsterdam. I highly recommend it, and I miss being there already. Watch for the older guy that works there playing backgammon in the smoking room from around 9pm-1am. Its interesting, and made me want to learn how to play! STAY AT THIS HOSTEL!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FearAndLoathing5407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We arrived Sunday afternoon very quick and easy check in, we were on the 4th floor which is a bit of a nightmare but we all managed! There were 9 of us girls staying in an 18 bed dorm, no problems with noise or anything. Big barrels which kept your valuables safe. In such an amazing location and it felt safe no problems sleeping. Great bar and staff! Bathrooms very clean could not fault it! Overall amazing trip and would definitely recommend this hostel to others!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BeckyStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

location ok, staffs ok, but room... it feels like some kind of mental hospital with 18ppl. i know the atmosphere in Amsterdam, but hostel have to be more neat and clean. bathroom is messy. i met some great friends in Amsterdam, but this hostel.. not really recommended if you're not really budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanghyun94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

When planning our trip, we chose Meeting Point purely based on its location, expecting the place itself to be nothing more than somewhere to sleep. After our trip, we all agreed that Meeting Point will be our hostel when we visit again. We arrived slightly earlier than check in so went to the bar for a booze while we waited for our room to free up. The room was perfect, comfy beds, showers and bathroom etc just down the hall. The staff were helpful and polite, and one of them looked like he was constantly acting in a comedy. After a long day soaking in what Amsterdam had to offer, the meeting point was a brilliant place to end the night with a steady supply of booze and a smoke before bed. Meeting Point has a special place in all our hearts and WILL be stayed at again. Dorian.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorian420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at the Meeting Point Hostel while travelling through Amsterdam with friends. This place is a standard Hostel, what you would expect for cheap accommodations. It is what it is, a Hostel. There is a choice of dorm size, we stayed in an 18 bed dorm and it was a large room with a bunch of bunk beds! They have a bar area downstairs where you can get drinks, have a smoke or pick up breakfast in the am (1 boiled egg and toast).

All in all, the location is great, super close Centraal Station and the square, banks, shopping, etc.

I should add, I left my camera in the dorm room and took a train to Paris. I arrived back a week later and they had it waiting for me at the front desk. Pretty impressive!

If you're looking for cheap accommodations in a central location, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adagal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Durty Nelly's Inn
Durty Nelly's Inn
#40 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#14 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
#33 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Meeting Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Meeting Point

Property: Hostel Meeting Point
Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Meeting Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing