We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Meeting Point
Ranked #51 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is cheap and you get what you pay for - large rooms with a bed to sleep and thats it. The lockers are available that your whole bag fits in so you stuff is safe and the bar downstairs is 24 hours. Because the rooms are so big and so many people its hard to get a uninterrupted sleep. However if you are like most people visiting Amsterdam you all you need is somewhere to crash and for this purpose the place is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelly289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 418 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place was the first that we stayed on on our inter rail trip and it was great, the best price we found in the city and the place was clean and staff we very helpful. We had the 18 bed dorm and it was quite at night and lively in the day

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackenzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good location in a central part of the city and near some reasonably priced coffee and smart(truffles) shops. The staff were friendly although the no-guests door policy was needlessly strict but I think that's standard for Amsterdam. The smoking room was pretty rubbish as you can't really relax on wooden bar stools but it's nice how it overlooks one of the canals. As did our room which was really nice.

Room Tip: Try get a room that overlooks the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Even if it's the cheapest hostel in Amsterdam it's still expensive, 21€ per night. The rooms were very big and full of nice people, friendly and not noisy. The bathrooms were big enough and clean. Wi-fi is free only if you have your device, but it doesn't reach the upper rooms. There's breakfast but you have to pay for it. The location is right in the centre of Amsterdam, but it's like 50 metres form the red light district so not a family hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakobs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

As a hostel it is very good. The bar is nice and cosy where you can while away some time chilling. The rooms are well maintained and clean.
The bar sometimes seems understaffed but the staff on the whole are knowledgable and friendly

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangerous007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent location on the edge of the Red Light District less than five minutes walk from Central Station. Staff were friendly and helpful. The 16 bed mixed dorm in which we stayed was perfectly clean but only having one power socket in the room wasn't great. Showers and toilets were ok for cleanliness. Definitely a safe (and relatively good value) choice for Amsterdam but not particularly memorable or special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in a really great location and for that reason I would stay again. However, the rooms are pretty dingy and damp and there's limited facilities e.g no kitchen or lounge area. However I did really enjoy my stay here

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#122 of 242 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,287 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Meeting Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Meeting Point

Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $34 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing